Friday’s Fave Five

friday fave five spring

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Another week has zoomed by. Here are some favorite parts of it:

1. An afternoon to myself is rare these days, especially on a Saturday. But everyone else was otherwise occupied, and I got to spend some focused, uninterrupted time on some blog posts that needed more thought than I had been able to give them.

2. Successful recipe experiments.  This one is just called Baked Chicken, but it needs to be called Pesto Chicken or something else a little more descriptive. It was my first time ever to use pesto. Everyone really liked it, and I am sure I’ll be using it again. Honey Mustard Sausage and Vegetables was a hit as well (we used turkey rather than beef sausage). Chicken In a Skillet was pretty good, too.

3. Take-out – two nights in a row! I requested it Friday night, and we got Papa Murphy’s. When my husband suggested getting something out again on Saturday, well, I wasn’t going to pass up the opportunity. 🙂 We got Red Lobster’s then.

4. Not losing power in a pretty bad storm yesterday. It blinked off for a moment, and we were without Internet for a few hours, but many had it much worse. My son and daughter-in-law have been without power since yesterday afternoon and spent the night here.

5. A “Laundry” sign. I had seen this several months ago and thought it work well with the other decor I had in there, but kept resisting. Who needs a sign that says “Laundry,” of all things, hidden away in a laundry room? But it was on sale 1/2 price this week, making it only about $7, and I still have credit left on a couple of Hobby Lobby gift cards, so I went for it. And I like it. 🙂 This is the first time I’ve had a cheery, decorated space in a laundry area, and it does brighten up the task.

IMG_1765

Happy Friday!

Save

14 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. It is SO HOT here that I am trying to find ways to make meals other than turning on the stove at all. (But a little toaster oven does help.) The recipes sound great – they may make it onto the table here also, especially the basil pesto chicken. Hope you have a great weekend, Barbara.

  2. yay for time to yourself and cute laundry signs.

    YUMMY….Pesto Chicken….we only eat meat a couple of times a week now (chicken and salmon with sometimes bison) but i do love trying new chicken recipes.

    I’ve never heard of Papa Murphy’s…don’t think we have one on the east coast.

    enjoy the weekend…is super hot and humid here but i’m loving it! SUMMER!!!

  3. Take out twice and a new laundry sign! Quite a week. I’m glad you didn’t lose power. That is no fun. At least you could shelter your son and DIL could stay with you. Have a great weekend.

  4. I was prowling around Hobby Lobby last Saturday, and I saw they had a bunch of laundry room decor. I thought about buying something. I never gave much thought to decorating the laundry room, but I have a friend who has hers decorated beautifully, and according to her, it really does make doing the job a joy.

    So glad you didn’t lose power. We don’t get many storms here in southwest Idaho, so we’re not often without power. When we lived in Florida, though, it was a regular occurrence. I wouldn’t have made a very good pioneer, because I can barely function without power. (Gotta flat-iron my hair every day.)

    I want to try the pesto chicken. My basil is flourishing, so it’s time to make some pesto. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  5. I keep seeing laundry decor and I have the same internal struggle. WHY decorate a spot that no one sees? Except that I think something that is cheery and makes one smile is worth having around.

    YOUR FIRST TIME TO USE PESTO!? I could drown myself in pesto. There are certain veggies that my kids could do without but pesto is like a magic sauce that makes ANY veggie go down “yummy!”

    It’s time to play catch up with Barbara a bit so I’m off to browse your latest posts. There’s one I had bookmarked for awhile and i’m eager to get to. Hope your weekend is relaxing.

  6. I love your little laundry collage. Coming from someone whose laundry room is dreary and in a back basement corner, I would be so much happier to have a cute space like that to do that chore. Those recipes look delicious. I need to get back to experimenting a bit. I pin a million recipes but have tried only a handful. How nice to you got a day totally to yourself. And what a treat to get takeout two days in a row. That happened here this weekend too.

  7. Red Lobster and Papa Murphy’s are two of my favorites.

    I like your Laundry sign. The laundry room I have now is just an area in our basement, but I still like to decorate a bit and make it cheerful. Since it is definitely ‘my’ space, I put up whatever makes me happy!

  8. I love pesto — I make it with basil from the garden and pine nuts (which are pricey) from the store. I usually put it as the “sauce” for my share of homemade pizza. Not cooking 2 days in a row= heaven! Your laundry decor looks really cute! Did you make the cross stitch Precious Moments picture?

  9. We often have takeout on a Friday but not so much lately. We have a very hot spell of weather right now so I think I’ll be fixing salad a lot but we too love roasted veggies. Good list.

  10. Ah, recipe success is sweet indeed! What a bonus that your family loves it too. I don’t mind cooking and often look forward to it, but bringing food home is such a nice break. So glad you got to do it twice ;-). Coupons and credits and sales sure make some decisions easy!

  11. Being without electricity in this heat would be a burden…we even run our fans outside on the porch…..I finally put some things up in my laundry room…I like what you have there…it is cheery. I have my Mother’s old glass scrub board and intend to put it up if I can get Honey Bear to get it out of the attic.
    Blessings,
    Mama Bear

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

