Friday’s Fave Five

friday fave five spring

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

I start too many of these commenting on the passage of time, but, wow, it sure does seem to be going ever more quickly. I can’t believe we’re a week into July already! But here we are, and here are some of the best parts of the last week:

1. Great-Grandma’s 88th birthday. She can only eat pureed food, so we got her a caramel frappe from McDonald’s (one of her favorite things) and put her birthday candle in it. πŸ™‚ We got cupcakes for the rest of us. Her favorite color is yellow, thus the yellow flowers.

13600024_10209436497566385_6391044515005328222_n

13439226_10209436497726389_2777056163182465468_n

13592829_10209436544087548_4552561093033037040_n

2. Independence Day. Though our country is not perfect and has its problems, I still would rather not llive anywhere else and I am thankful for it.

3. Neighborhood cookout. A couple of neighbors have organized this for the last few years for July 4. One neighbor grills hamburgers, hot dogs, and ribs, and everyone contributes a bit of money for the meat. Then everyone else brings side dishes, desserts, soft drinks, etc. Sadly, I am not as neighborly as I probably should be, so I am glad for this opportunity to get out in my community and talk with people. I especially enjoyed meeting some new neighbors.

Funny moment here: I’m not a huge fan of Sprite, but I drink it sometimes if there are no caffeine-free alternatives. Little Timothy and his parents had come for the cookout, and he had gotten hot running around. He came over to me and kept trying to get to the ice in my cup, but he had been petting a dog, so I didn’t want his fingers in it. πŸ™‚ I asked if I could pour some for him in a cup. He took a drink, blinked, made a funny face, but said, “MMMMmmm!” And he kept doing that, like it was a bit strong, but he liked it. His mom said, “Why are you reacting like that? I said, “Has he not had Sprite before?” She said, “Oh, I thought you had water!” πŸ˜€

4. Ceiling fans. We don’t use them all that much, but for a couple of days it was so hot and humid that just the AC wasn’t cutting it. It felt lovely to come in and sit down under the fans.

5. Clean carpets. My husband cleaned my youngest son’s carpet because he had a pretty bad stain on it, and while he was at it, cleaned the carpet in the living room and office as well. The stain came out nicely, and it’s a nice feeling to know the carpets have been done.

Bonus. Rain. It’s been pretty dry lately, so a day or so of rain was a big relief.

Happy Friday!

Save

15 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Happy Birthday to Great Grandma. The yellow roses are beautiful. I hope she enjoyed her frappe. I desperately need to clean my living room rug. I have three neighbors that I know but no cookouts. We do combine yard sales occasionally though. Have a great day.

  2. oh how awesome that great grandma had her fave treat! love the pretty flowers. How fun to do a neighborhood bbq. that is a cute story about the sprite!

    have a wonderful weekend. we need some rain here in eastern NY and imthink to,orrow might be the day for it. Im hoping so…that way i will have an excuse to just watch movies and read all afternoon with hubby!

  3. Hi, Barbara, I’m visiting from Friday’s Five Fave.

    Happy birthday to you great-grandmother. What a blessing to still have her in your life. I had 2 great-grandmothers until I was very nearly 30. One of them, especially, meant the world to me. I even posted about her earlier this week.

    I hope Grandma enjoyed her frappe. I’m sure she loved the beautiful flowers.

    The neighborhood BBQ sounds lovely. Kind of like the old-fashioned block parties of old.

    Blessings,
    Patti @ Embracing Home

    • Thanks Patti! She’s actually my mother-in-law, but we call her Great-grandma (or GG for short) to distinguish her from myself since I’ve become a Grandma. πŸ™‚

  4. The mind does weird things. I read your first entry and thought it said “We got her a caramel frappe from McDonalds and put her cards in it.” πŸ™‚ Glad you didn’t do that!!! πŸ™‚ Happy birthday to GG!!

  5. Happy birthday to your MIL. That is a funny reaction from your little grand. Yippee for AC and fans! That’s nice to have a neighborhood cook out for the 4th! Have a nice weekend…

  6. Happy Birthday to Great Grandma! These are all good favorites. Neighborhood cookouts are a lot of fun and I’m always grateful to the people who take the trouble to organize them. I love going, but am not one to take the initiative. And ceiling fans — definitely a blessing!

  7. I love how your family celebrate one another. I have to agree — sometimes, AC just isn’t quite enough! For a nice change, though, our July has been relatively mild, only in the low to mid 80s so it’s mostly fans for me. Glad your neighborhood has these get togethers to welcome new neighbors and make some connections as you celebrate.

  8. Happy birthday to Great Gran! I bet the frappΓ© tasted good to her.

    I’m a big fan of ceiling fans ( sorry I couldn’t help myself). We use them in every room.

    Yay for clean carpets and yay for a husband who cleans them.
    Yay

  9. Happy birthday to the birthday girl. A lot of the newer neighborhoods seem to do those kinds of parties but our older neighborhood has never had one. I remember as a kid knowing every single person on our block, nowadays I couldn’t say the same. Sorta sad.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

