Mount TBR Reading Challenge Checkpoint #2

Mount TBR 2016

The Mount TBR Reading Challenge (to read books one already owned) has checkpoints every quarter where we can report how we’re doing. I read 9 books for this challenge during the first quarter of the year (listed at the last checkpoint here). So far this quarter I have read (each title links back to my review of it):

  1. A Slender Thread by Tracie Peterson
  2. The Reunion by Dan Walsh
  3. True Woman 201: Interior Design: Ten Elements of Biblical Womanhood by Mary Kassian and Nancy Leigh DeMoss
  4. What Follows After by Dan Walsh
  5. The Hardest Peace: Expecting Grace in the Midst of Life’s Hard by Kara Tippetts
  6. Beyond Stateliest Marble: The Passionate Femininity of Anne Bradstreet by Douglas Wilson
  7. One Perfect Spring by Irene Hannon
  8. Pride, Prejudice, and Cheese Grits by Mary Jane Hathaway
  9. The Renewing of the Mind Project by Barb Raveling
  10. Don’t Let the Goats Eat the Loquat Trees: The Adventures of an American Surgeon in Nepal by Thomas Hale
  11. Chateau of Secrets by Melanie Dobson
  12. Eight Twenty Eight: When Love Didn’t Give Up by Ian and Larissa Murphy

That’s 21 books so far, taking me up to Mont Blanc, the second of Bev’s challenge levels. Four of them (True Woman, Stateliest Marble, P&P & Cheese Grits, and Renewing the Mind) are from my original list of goals for the challenge. Only two more from that list to go!

I had only signed up for the first level, but I think I’ll probably pretty easily make the third by the end of the year.

Bev also lists some fun questions for this checkpoint. We’re not required to do all of them – but I did because I thought they were fun:

A. Choose two titles from the books you’ve read so far that have a common link. Chateau of Secrets and Searching for Eternity are both set during WWII in both France and America.

B. Tell us about a book on the list that was new to you in some way–new author, about a place you’ve never been, a genre you don’t usually read…etc.  Irene Hannon and Thomas Hale (this quarter) and Marilynne Robinson, Chad Williams, and Chris Fabry (last quarter) were all new-to-me authors. I didn’t like Robinson’s Gilead as much as I had expected to but still want to try some of her other books. I love Chris Fabry’s Not In the Heart and have already read another book by him and bought one or two more.

C. Which book (read so far) has been on your TBR mountain the longest? Was it worth the wait? Or is it possible you should have tackled it back when you first put it on the pile? Or tossed it off the edge without reading it all? Of what I’ve read so far, that would be The Reunion by Dan Walsh, bought in October of 2012. It’s one of my favorites of his books, and I wish I had read it sooner!

My Life According to Books
1. My Ex is/was Our Mutual Friend (by Charles Dickens)
2.
My best friend isTrue Woman (by Mary Kassian and Nancy Leigh DeMoss)
3. Lately, at work [I’ve been waiting for] What Follows After (by Dan Walsh)
4.
If I won the lottery, I’d have One Perfect Spring (by Irene Hannon)
5. My fashion sense [hangs by] A Slender Thread (by Tracie Peterson
6. My next ride [will take me to the] Chateau of Secrets (by Melanie Dobson)
7. The one I love is [inspires] Big Love: The Practice of Loving Beyond Your Limits (by Kara Tippetts)
8. If I ruled the world, everyone would [be] (Searching for Eternity by Elizabeth Musser)
9. When I look out my window, I see The Goats Eat the Loquat Trees (by Thomas Hale)
10. The best things in life are Beyond Stateliest Marble (by Douglas Wilson)

Thanks, Bev, for the spur to get into some of the books that I have been wanting to read (for years in some cases!)

6 thoughts on “Mount TBR Reading Challenge Checkpoint #2

  1. Wow! You are really doing great on this challenge! I am still working through my Classics challenge and I have so far to go. I don’t think I will make the deadline but I will give it my best. Life is kind of busy for reading right now. Some day when everyone is gone and there is nothing else to do I know I will have plenty of time for reading and knitting. 🙂 Until then I will be mom, wife, and caregiver. Hope you have a wonderful 4th Weekend!

  2. You are doing just great! I’m in such a rut. I tend to read the same books over and over. Have a Happy July 4th.

  3. Pingback: Mount TBR Reading Challenge Checkpoint #3 | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

