Friday’s Fave Five

friday fave five spring

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Wow, it’s the first of July already! Here are highlights from the last week in June:

1. A neighbor’s bounty. This time of year our neighbor starts bringing over some of the excess from their garden. One batch contained these humongous zucchini. My little tape measure isn’t showing up well, but they were close to 12″ long.

IMG_1742

2. Two successful new zucchini recipes.  One night I tried these Zucchini Boats, and wow – we all loved them. I only made a half recipe at first to test them out, but next time I am making a full batch! I used the Jimmy Dean Turkey Sausage Crumbles because that’s what I had on hand, and also because the turkey sausage is so much less greasy. Plus they are already cooked, saving a step.

IMG_1743

I was trying to explain to my husband and son that normally for zucchini boats, you cut the zucchini in half lengthwise and scoop out the middle, so it ends up looking something like a canoe. But these were so big, I cut them into quarters instead of halves so the servings wouldn’t be so big and take longer to cook. My husband summarized, “So they’re zucchini rafts and not zucchini boats?” 🙂  I also made zucchini muffins but didn’t get a photo. And both recipes just used one zucchini! Bonus: after typing in “zucchini” so much while searching for recipes, I now know how to spell it. 🙂  I used to get mixed up as to how many c’s and n’s it had.

3. A finished fence! I am so proud of my hard-working husband both for finding it on Craig’s list and then spending so much time putting it up. Unfortunately with the loss of the diseased tress we had to cut down, the weeds along the tree line are shooting up rapidly since they’re getting so much more sunshine and rain. That’s the next phase: getting rid of the weeds and deciding what we want to plant in their stead.

IMG_1749

4. Successful surgery. My step-father had hip replacement surgery yesterday, and at the time of this writing I’ve heard the surgery went well and he’s in recovery. My sisters there with him in TX are keeping me updated. Praying for a quick and smooth recovery.

5. One of my favorite meals that my daughter-in-law makes is a chicken cordon bleu variation with chicken tenderloins, ham, bacon, and cheese, and she made that for us on Sunday along with au gratin potatoes and salad. Yum!

Happy Friday, and Happy Independence Day weekend to those in the USA!

Save

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Those zucchini “rafts” (lol!) look delicious. I’m just starting to get a few zucchini in my garden. I love them, and can’t wait to make up some bread and muffins. My neighbors have a fence just like yours, it borders one side of our yard. I really like it, it’s so clean and tidy looking. Good news about your step-father. Happy 4th to you!

  2. I will have to try your zucchini “rafts”!! And the cordon bleu recipe sounds delicious (and rich!!). Happy Friday, Barbara!!

  3. Looks like some good eating went on this week! Those zucchini rafts look yummy, and it is good to know a way to use up those big zucchini. I always try to pick out the little ones, LOL.

    Kudos to your husband’s fence building efforts – I know that is a big job!

  4. we love zucchini and I am blessed to live near a farmers market where they sell it for a greAt price! we love it roasted with sweet potatoes, carrots, onions and garlic.

    your fence looks womderful…that is the kind our right side neighbor has and the white always looks so neat.

    whoa! your Sunday meal sounds heavenly although I no longer eat a lot of meat. But it sounds like you had a delicious week!!

    happy independence day!

  5. I don’t garden much anymore, preferring the Farmer’s Market instead. But a few years ago, we planted 9 zucchini plants in our garden. Do you know how many zucchini you get from 9 plants? Seems like about a million. I joked that my neighbors pulled their drapes and switched off their doorbells when they saw me coming over with am armload of zucchini every couple days.

    We are taking care of a friend’s house while they are away, and they have told us to take whatever is ready in their garden. Looks like zucchini boats/rafts are on my menu this week.

    Blessings,
    Patti @ Embracing Home

  6. The fence looks really nice. We have the same problem with figuring out what to do with all sorts of weedy areas – between the usual backfill area around new construction and the space that had to be dug up for the septic tanks and fields, we have a lot of land covered with weeds. We have someone coming to plant buffalograss over most of it, but there’s still plenty of area around the house and along the fence lines that I need to make decisions about.

  7. I love zucchinis too ! People recover from hip operations very quickly. It’s not like in the past. In my painting class at least 4 or 5 had one and were already standing up the next day !

  8. Well courgette (the UK name) is easier to spell than zucchini but I’m afraid I’m still not that keen although your recipe looks good. I’d prefer the chicken dish which sounds lovely. Nice fence. Have fun working out what to plant by it.

  9. You made great use of those huge zucchini! Those fence sections were a great find and they looks so nice. Well done to Hubby! Have a wonderful 4th!

  10. I need to borrow your lovely daughter in law to come cook for me! She makes such delicious sounding meals! Those zucchini “rafts” look delicious. Your hubby has a funny sense of humor. The fence looks great. I would love a fence like that around the yard. Ours is the old, short, sparsely boarded, every neighbor knows your business kind of fence.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

