What’s On Your Nightstand: June 2016

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

June has gone by so quickly! Here’s my reading activity for the month:

Since last time I have completed:

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame, audiobook, reviewed here.

Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift, audiobook, reviewed here.

Don’t Let the Goats Eat the Loquat Trees: The Adventures of an American Surgeon in Nepal by Thomas Hale, reviewed here.

Chateau of Secrets by Melanie Dobson, reviewed here.

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman, audiobook, reviewed here.

Be Faithful (1 & 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon): It’s Always Too Soon to Quit! by Warren W. Wiersbe, not reviewed.

I’m currently reading:

Pioneer Girl: The Annotated Autobiography by Laura Ingalls Wilder and Pamela Smith Hill. Making steady progress!

Eight Twenty Eight: When Love Didn’t Give Up by Ian and Larissa Murphy

Great British Short Stories: A Vintage Collection of Classic Tales, audiobook.

Up Next:

Ten Fingers For God: The Life and Work of Dr. Paul Brand by Paul Brand. This will be a reread: I first read this in my 20s or early 30s.

Home to Chicory Lane by Deborah Raney

What are you reading these days?

Save

6 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: June 2016

  1. I always enjoy your list of books. I find it really interesting to re-read books that I first read decades ago. So many times, my impressions are quite a bit different the second time. I love the way you’re taking your time with Pioneer Girl. That’s the best strategy with it, I think.

  2. I smiled when I read your comment on “Pioneer Girl”. It is a lengthy and very concentrated book of facts. I put it down but I’m glad you’re still at it. Have a great day.

  3. I’ve been looking at my library for a Man Named Ove since your review. No luck yet. Lots of good books here that I’d like to read! I’ve been re-reading more books this year than I typically do and it’s been beneficial. What we read at 25 affects us differently now that we’re more than twice that age. 😉

  4. Wow – you are doing a lot of reading this summer. I just completed “Maisie Dobbs” – a good mystery – first in the Maisie Dobbs series. I am now reading “Little Bee” and have been hooked since the first sentence in the book. My daughter loved, “A Man Called Ov” so I want to read that too. Have a great day!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

