Friday’s Fave Five

friday fave five spring

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been a rough week for my husband, who hasn’t been feeling well. But hopefully things have turned a corner. Here are some bright spots from the week:

1. Sunday dinner. Through a series of mishaps (involving a baby, a blow-out diaper, and a car seat that had to be taken out and cleaned up), my son and daughter-in-law weren’t able to go to church on Sunday morning (or at least would not have gotten there til it was more than half over). So they came to our house and started making lunch. That especially worked out well because dealing with an ant invasion in the kitchen that morning put me running behind and I wasn’t able to get the dinner that I was planning on into the crockpot. I had a Plan B in mind, but it was much nicer to come home and find a meal nearly ready.

2. Hubby helping with the ant invasion clean-up.

3. Air conditioning. I’ve come back from errand-running just dripping with sweat a couple of times – and it’s only June!

4. “More Manners of Downton Abbey.” The historical advisor for “Downton Abbey” discussed manners and mores of the time. It aired just before the series finale, and I had it in my Tivo recorded shows, but hadn’t seen it until this week. It was a pleasant hour’s viewing. I enjoy watching those times, but I am glad I don’t live in them!

5. This photo of my son and grandson playing in the fountains.

13305250_10154294753537193_7758543863048556428_o

Happy Friday!

Save

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Oh my! I feel for you with that ant invasion! Reminds me of the termite swarm a few weeks ago. It was so nice though to have lunch made for you. I’m glad to hear that your hubby is feeling better. I would really like to see the “More Manners…” video. I’ve looked for it and don’t see it offered as a video anywhere so I guess I’ll have to wait and see if it is offered. Cute photo of your son and grand son! It looks very refreshing!. Stay cool and have a good weekend.

  2. Oh, what happy smiles! Given your hot weather, I can appreciate them even more. Sorry to hear your husband hasn’t been well. But good to see that you had some blessings to report, too.

  3. Yes – sometimes those babies and their diaper situations can greatly limit what you can do. I remember once when a child had to be entirely re-bathed right when we were supposed to leave for something or other. All part of the process!! 🙂

  4. You have a wonderful son and daughter in law! So thoughtful. Love the memory making picture of Timothy and daddy! 🙂
    I’ve not every gotten into the Downton Abbey series… maybe I should. {{wink}}

  5. Oh, love those smiling faces! What great pictures! We have the AC going this week, too. I’m happy that my husband ignored my protests that it’s too soon. I do love open windows and fresh air, but when it’s 93 degrees, I’m so grateful for the AC.

  6. Ha! It’s wonderful how things work out. Hope your ant problem is solved. Fun photo of your son and grandson in the fountains!

  7. I hate ants and would not cope with an invasion too well but how nice to come home to a surprise lunch. You always have to be prepared for the unexpected with babies! Glad your hubby is feeling better.

  8. Oh I love the pictures of Daddy and son playing in the fountains. I miss those days with my own kids. The ants are crazy this year. I heard cinnamon works and I gave that a try where they were tunneling beside my back steps and it seems to have worked. Gotta love the crockpot meals. So nice to come home to something almost ready to eat!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

