Friday’s Fave Five

 friday fave five spring

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been a great week! Here are the highlights:

1. A long weekend. My husband was off Monday and took Friday off as well.

2. Lunch at my son and daughter-in-law‘s on Saturday. With my m-i-l here, we don’t get out much together, and it was nice to do so.

3. Memorial Day was just a perfect day all the way around. The night before I watched a moving Memorial Day concert on the PBS station. Monday morning was a slow, peaceful start, then my husband grilled burgers, hot dogs, and sausage for lunch. He made a water slide that Timothy just loved and went up and down multiple times. We had a nap in the afternoon, leftovers for dinner, and a game of Settlers of Catan that evening.

4. Good eating! Jason grilled for the first time on Saturday, chicken marinated in a sweet onion and bacon marinade (I think they got it at Trader Joe’s). It was wonderful. Then we got take-out barbecue for dinner that evening, grilled ham on Sunday, and then had all the goodies on Memorial Day – and leftovers for several days afterward! Also had some good desserts: key lime pie (store bought and frozen. It’s not my favorite, but I enjoyed this one) and an angel food cake, cheery pie filling, cream cheese and Cool Whip dessert Mittu made.

5. A whole day at home is hard to come by any more. I go out to the gym as many mornings as I can, and the days that I don’t are usually days I have other appointments or errands. Thursday I didn’t go to the gym because I had a few errands to run, but decided instead to focus on something I was doing at home. Wow, I got so much done plus felt so much more rested! I still have to tuck the errands in somewhere, and I do value (and need) the gym, but I am thinking I might try to work more of these totally-at-home days in more often.

Happy Friday!

Save

7 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. wow that is a LOT of food! we are mostly vegetarian or pescatarian now but i did grill some wonderful tilapia and chicken this past week. i love days t just stay home, i shouldnhave some of those come June 22 😜

  2. Your Memorial Day weekend sounds perfect, Barbara! I’m glad you and your husband were able to get out for a bit together. I got hungry just reading about all of the delicious sounding food you had over the weekend. One of the things I want to try making myself this summer is a key-lime pie from scratch.

    I hope this weekend is just as nice for you!

  3. I treasure my days at home. I agree, exercise is important, but not having to go out is so good for the spirit!

  4. Yummy. Sounds like lots of good eats and a lovely long weekend for you guys. I go to the gym 3x a week. And I work hard when I’m there…it’s made a huge difference!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

