What’s On Your Nightstand: May 2016

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

This is my favorite time for a What’s On Your Nightstand post – when the last Tuesday of the month is the actual last day of the month! Since we have all 31 days of May plus a few more since April’s Nightstand, it will probably look like I got more reading in than usual.

Since last time I have completed:

Beyond Stateliest Marble: The Passionate Femininity of Anne Bradstreet by Douglas Wilson, reviewed here. Didn’t like it as much as I expected I would, but it is still valuable in many respects.

The Renewing of the Mind Project by Barb Raveling, reviewed here. Excellent!

The Hardest Peace: Expecting Grace in the Midst of Life’s Hard by Kara Tippetts, reviewed here. Hard (the subject matter, not the reading), but good.

Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe, audiobook, reviewed here. Glad to have finally worked through this classic. Enjoyed it!

Pride, Prejudice, and Cheese Grits by Mary Jane Hathaway, reviewed here.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, audiobook, reviewed here. Too much bad language, but otherwise an excellent book.

One Perfect Spring by Irene Hannon, reviewed here. Overall a good story though with some odd tendencies in the writing.

Be Ready: Living in Light of Christ’s Return (NT Commentary: 1 & 2 Thessalonians) by Warren W. Wiersbe, not reviewed.

I had to lay aside one book of short stories by Ernest Hemingway. I had wanted to read more of his writings since I finished The Old Man and the Sea, but summaries of his other books either didn’t sound interesting to me or sounded like they’d have elements I object to. I thought I’d try a book of his short stories, but the language and blatant immorality got to me in the first couple of stories, and when he got graphic about a sexual encounter in the third, that was the last straw for me. Thankfully Audible allowed me to return it.

I’m currently reading:

Pioneer Girl: The Annotated Autobiography by Laura Ingalls Wilder and Pamela Smith Hill. I really am actually currently reading it this time. 🙂 I had started it a long time ago, but had not picked it up in a while.

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame, audiobook.

Don’t Let the Goats Eat the Loquat Trees: The Adventures of an American Surgeon in Nepal by Thomas Hale

Be Faithful (1 & 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon): It’s Always Too Soon to Quit! by Warren W. Wiersbe

Up Next:

Ten Fingers For God: The Life and Work of Dr. Paul Brand by Paul Brand. This will be a reread: I first read this in my 20s or early 30s.

Home to Chicory Lane by Deborah Raney

Are you looking forward to some summer reading?

8 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: May 2016

  1. Oh my, Warren Wiersbe brings back memories. One of my Sunday school teachers — I’m thinking junior high era — always used books by him to teach our class! The renewing of the mind book sounds really helpful. Off to read more about it …

  2. I’ve often been curious about Hemingway’s writing but never read any. Thanks for the the critique. I just can’t get my reading past first gear lately. Good selection of books!

  3. Hi, Barbara! It always feels good to work through a nice fat stack of books.:)

    Yeah, I’ve always had kind of a rough time with Hemingway as well. Don’t know why so many people consider his stuff good literature. I can’t stand it.

    How are you liking The Wind In The Willows? It is on my to-read list and I was wondering if it’s any good?

  4. Can;t believe it’s been a month already and time for On Your Nightstand again. I enjoyed the Book Thief and thought the movie was well done, too. Wind in the Willows is one I’d like to read.

  5. I’m thinking I want to read “The Hardest Peace” and “The Renewing of the Mind Project”. They both sound really good. Looks like you had a great month of reading. I’ve been so busy I totally forgot to get my post up! 😦
    Do you think they would care if I got it up late? 😉

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

