Friday’s Fave Five

friday fave five spring

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

This has been a fairly uneventful week. Which is nice, because uneventful weeks are relatively more peaceful. But now I am trying to remember what happened that I can comment on. πŸ™‚

1. Progress on the fence. Last week my husband had two panels up: as of Thursday afternoon, he had finished eight. Due to some rain and other responsibilities, he wasn’t able to work on it much Saturday, so most of that has been done in the evenings after he gets off work. I’m not sure how many there are all together. So thankful for my hard-working husband.

IMG_1704

I mentioned last week that he had found this (or at least, the pieces of it) on Craig’s list. When he first went out to look at them, he told me that they were tan. I had only seen vinyl fencing in white before and was afraid tan might make them look old. But they were such a good deal, we decided to get them and then we could paint them later if we wanted to. They turned out to be kind of a sandy, just off-white color. I really like that, because sometimes the sun hits it in full force, and I think the white would be blinding – or at least glaring. At some point we want to put some bushes and plants at intervals.

2. My hydrangea bush has never put out this many blossoms before. Lovely! And I like that they are different colors.

IMG_1702

3. Time with my little grandson. I know I have said that before. πŸ™‚ But time spent with him makes up my favorite parts of every week. Those who know me well will appreciate that I especially love when he climbs up beside me and says, “Book! Book!”

4. A family open to experimental recipes. I tried cabbage rolls for the first time this week (this recipe), and they were ok, but a little bland. That one was nice in that it was a stovetop recipe. I’d like to try this one which has some different flavorings, but it will have to wait til cooler weather – it’s already too hot to have the oven on for 75 minutes. Somewhere I saw a crockpot version that I might have to try as well. My son wasn’t sure if he’d like the cabbage, but he gave it a try and did.

5. Take-out meals. I know, I have mentioned them several times as well. But I love the combination of not having to decide what’s for dinner, having someone else cook it, and not having clean-up. We got take-out from my husband’s favorite Asian place Saturday evening, which almost always has enough for leftovers for lunch another day – another favorite of take-out. And then, this isn’t take-out exactly, but it was made by someone else: my son and daughter-in-law brought over some homemade enchiladas left from a dinner they had hosted the night before to us for lunch on Saturday – yummy! Better than take-out!

Happy Friday!

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. great list of faves. Ive been trying new cold salad recipes and love them! we also enjoy the benefits of takeout. our fave is indian/pakistani food. yum!!!

    enjoy the long weekend!

  2. I think the off white fence panels will be perfect. As you said, much easier on the eyes when the sun is out than pure white. The hydrangeas are beautiful. Have a great weekend.

  3. Having to plan/prepare meals crossed off the to do list is nice even if you like cooking! Glad has snuck into your week again πŸ™‚ I agree with you — solid white paneling can create quite the glare. Your husband has done such a nice job.

    Oh, that hydrangea is gorgeous! The multi-color is a bonus for sure. Our soil is so alkaline that most hydrangeas go pink. Of course, whatever color we get, we want the other color, too!

  4. Your hydrangeas are so lovely! I’ve been dreaming about flowers this spring, but have had to keep my dreams set on low-maintenance, un-hungry flowers since I have little time or inclination for gardening (at least, of the sort that doesn’t produce food!) Here in the Plains, it’s peony and iris season and I loved driving through the countryside on our way home from a wedding and a funeral, checking out everyone’s displays.

  5. The fence looks great and you are right white bounces the sunshine off it in a blinding way. Our neighbors have the white panels. Beautiful full hydrangea. Enjoy. That’s sweet that your little grand loves books! Homemade enchiladas sound delicious. Ha! My family would be in deep trouble if they weren’t willing to try new things…
    Have a meaningful Memorial day weekend.

  6. What beautiful hydrangeas and a good looking fence too! So glad you could spend some time with your grandson. Have a nice long weekend.

  7. I just planted hydrangeas…I hope I don’t kill them off and they look as nice as yours some day! The fence is lovely and private. The beauty of a vinyl fence is that it doesn’t need painting! And trust me, that much in a white fence would have been very reflective and hard on the eyes. So fun to hear that you are passing on your love of reading to your grandson.

  8. I’m in awe of that hydrangea bush! So gorgeous!

    My grands love books too, but they are impatient and want to turn the pages before I can even get a whole sentence out. But they are happy and want to do it over and over …

  9. The best thing about take out is that we can have lots of leftovers and so one meal actually lasts two or three days@
    That fence is going to be great. I appreciate the privacy and who wouldn’t love the price? The coloring is an added bonus.
    Reading with little ones=best!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

