Friday’s Fave Five

friday fave five spring

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

This is one of those weeks when it’s not hard at all to name five blessings – in fact, it will be hard to keep it to five!

1. Mother’s Day. I so appreciate my family’s efforts to make it a special day for me. Flowers, a balloon, a great lunch, and thoughtful cards and gifts. Plus my husband replenished my hanging flower baskets and planters.

IMG_1672

Mother’s Day Dinner

IMG_1673

IMG_1671

2. The Church Ladies’ Brunch with my daughter-in-law. Heard a wonderful testimony and participated in “speed friending” – we sat across from another lady, took turns asking each others questions from a provided list, and moved to the next person when someone rang a bell after 3 minutes or so. We did that for about half an hour, so we got to meet and get a little acquainted with ten ladies.

IMG_1668(1)

IMG_1689

3. Mexican food take-out on either Friday or Saturday night, I can’t remember. It was good!

4. Refurbished swing. I showed you recently how my patio swing had deteriorated after just four years. My husband painted it and built a new seat and back for it. We sat in it and talked last night.

IMG_1653

Rusty, deteriorating swing

 

IMG_1690

Refurbished swing!

5. Thoughtful son and daughter-in-law. As I write this on Thursday afternoon, I got back not long ago from a follow-up visit to the cardiologist. Everything’s fine – I’m told to keep doing what I am doing and he’ll see me in a year unless something comes up (Yea!) Because the appointment was a distance away, they took a long time to call me back, traffic was heavy, and it was raining, I spent most of the afternoon out. Then my son texted me asking if I’d like them to bring or make dinner tonight. Well, sure! I can’t imagine that I’ll ever turn down someone else making me a meal! But especially on a busy day, it’s nice to be able to just relax until dinner time instead of having to start dinner. I’m not sure what we’ll have, but I know it will be good!

Happy Friday!

 

18 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. All wonderful blessings here! I love your swing. So glad that you received a good report from your cardiologist. Have a great day.

  2. Lovely celebration of you your family gave on Mother’s Day! And I can’ t believe the difference in your swing. What a fine job your hubby did.

  3. Wow! Your swing looks awesome! Great job! What a very thought family you have! 🙂 We are blessed aren’t we?!
    Love those banquets! So much fun.

  4. What an interesting idea … speed friending. We have kind of a new group of people attending our church. This might be a great addition to the next fellowship. Thanks for the idea.

    Love the swing. I’ve wanted one for ages, but alas, no porch where we live.

    I had one as a kid and spent a lot of time in it.

    I’m pretty sure you’ve mentioned your son and daughter-in-law coming and making meals for you before when you have a busy day. You are blessed!

  5. Looks like you had a wonderful week! That meal looks great. Such a pretty cake and such a thoughtful and kind family. The “speed friending” looks like a lot of fun and would work with many age groups. I like the newly refurbished swing even better than the original. 🙂 My husband had an episode with SVT just last week which involved a trip to the emergency room and the cardiologist. He had to wear a heart monitor for 24 hours so we will see if it recorded anything out of the ordinary. Glad your visit had good results.

  6. Looks like you were treated well for Mother’s day. Hubby did a great job on that swing. Have a wonderful weekend.

  7. These are all great blessings. I like the Speed Friending activity, how fun is that? The swing looks great, and having dinner served to you on such a busy day is a gift.

  8. What a good week! I’m so glad you were celebrated on Mother’s Day (love the plate your food is on). I’m also very happy for your good health news. Your new swing looks great!

    • Thanks, Lynda. Can you see the questions from the photo I posted well enough to copy them down? I only have that sheet I brought home from the brunch – I don’t have these typed where I could copy and paste them.

      On Sat, May 14, 2016 at 8:59 PM, Stray Thoughts wrote:

      >

  9. Wow, your swing looks fanastic now, I wish I could take a seat and we have a little chat over there!
    Thanks for your appreciative words on my blog, I am always delighted when I see your comments. And please forgive me when I do not always have time to visit your back and leave a trace here on your.
    Have lovely Sunday!
    Warm wished from Germany
    Anita

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

