Christians with political differences

Arguing

Photo Courtesy of Ambro at freedigitalphotos.net

Normally I stay far away from politics online, especially here. It’s just too volatile a subject, with good people on the opposite sides of some fences.

While differences and their tensions are present every election, I’ve been dismayed this year by comments such as, “I don’t see how any Christian can vote for that candidate.” We don’t need to call each other’s spirituality into question over politics.

I came across a couple of good posts this morning on the subject. Especially now that it looks like the final nominees are not the ones some of us wanted, we have been pondering what to do. In Can You Vote For Trump With a Clear Conscience? Andy Naselli discusses the options, none of which is ideal, but makes the point that believers can vote in totally opposite ways or think in different ways about this and still have a clear conscience. He’s obviously against Trump, but I’m sharing this for his delineation of the different ways a Christian’s conscience might lead him to vote, not necessarily for his views on Trump, even though I agree with many of them. For or against, “fellow Christians who are members of the same church should be able to disagree on these issues and still have close fellowship with each other” – and fellow Christians who don’t go to the same church should be able to do this with disputable matters as well.

Joel Arnold brings out many good points as well in Trump vs. Clinton: The Story of the Great Evangelical Predicament. He notes, “It’s entirely possible that there is not a single ‘right Christian response'” and “red vs. blue isn’t light vs. darkness.” “Don’t call your friend a liberal/heretic/moron because he didn’t agree with you.”

In this arena as well as all others, we need to remember:

  1. To “Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer each person” (Colossians 4:8).
  2. To be “wise as serpents, and harmless as doves” (Matthew 10:16).
  3. To spend more time praying than arguing over these options.
  4. Though we do have a responsibility to be aware of issues and vote our conscience, our ultimate hope and the greatest need of any citizen is not in a political candidate.

See also:

Thoughts on Inauguration Day.
Thoughts About the Election.
Post-election Blues.

8 thoughts on “Christians with political differences

  1. Pingback: Reblog: Christians with political differences — Stray Thoughts – The Lazy Dreamer

  2. Thanks for these links — I will follow up with them. Politics are divisive for sure, but unfortunately (?) for me, I am very political — it’s one of my passions. It does make for some great highs and lows in life, that’s for sure.

    • My husband enjoys politics as well. He also enjoys a lively debate with others who think differently from himself. Nothing wrong with that. But I hate when Christians can’t differ on things like this without name-calling or condescension.

  3. For sure, I echo what you say here. I try to stay as far away from discussing politics as I can. My thoughts are that our country is not going to heal by political means. We need Jesus. I’m still praying about my choice when I vote this November.

  4. Pingback: The Simple Woman’s Daybook May 10, 2016 | The Seasons of My Life

  5. Pingback: Favorite Posts of 2016 | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

