Friday’s Fave Five

friday fave five spring

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s so hard to believe April is about over. I don’t know where this month went! But here are some highlights from the last week:

1. “Skinny” Chocolate “Ice Cream.” I’ve been collecting lower-calorie or healthier recipes on Pinterest. and tried this one this week. I halved it to 1 sliced, frozen banana, 1 Tbsp. of peanut butter, and 1/2 Tbsp cocoa. It was pretty good. It was a little hard to get the frozen banana completely blended with the little off-brand “magic bullet” type blender I was using, but otherwise it was fine.

IMG_1646

2. One pound. My weight has been stuck at about the same level for a couple of weeks. It finally went down another pound this week – a pound that put me under a weight that ends in zero. 🙂 That pound from one set of ten down to the next feels really nice.

3. A quiet day. I wasn’t feeling well last weekend and ended up staying home from church on Sunday. I tried listening to a sermon online, but mainly slept while everyone was gone, then spent most of the evening reading. It was a refreshing day.

4. Two take-out meals. We got take-out from my husband’s favorite Asian place on Saturday, then, when I stayed home Sunday, I asked if we could get take-out from McAlister’s Deli for lunch – so basically I had the weekend “off” from cooking except for Great-Grandma’s stuff and heating up leftovers for Sunday night.

5. Our little grandson and his new battery-operated car – or cycle – or “mower” as he calls it, since it’s shaped like his granddad’s riding lawn mower. My husband checks several “deal” sites often and found it for a good price. It was so fun to show it to Timothy and hear his giggles as he tried it. Unfortunately I didn’t get a photo then: in this one I was trying to get him to look up and smile, but he was distracted by a neighbor on his riding lawn mower.

IMG_1647

Happy Friday!

8 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Congrats on the weight loss. At this age, every pound is a battle and a victory. Good for you! Your weekend sounds quiet and perfect. I hope the one ahead offers you some periods of respite as well:) Sweet photo of your grandson!

  2. we all need an occasional day like that. Even if we aren’t feeling well. Just some down time helps me tremendously. That Ice cream sounds so good. I totally get the stuck weight thing. I’ve been stuck for some time also. Very frustrating. NO matter what I do I can’t get it to go past that number! Hope you have an ejoyable weekend.

  3. The chocolate ice cream looks very good. I’ve done something similar with my blender and used a banana and fresh strawberries and almond milk. Oh, and ice cubes. I hope you are feeling better.

  4. The weight loss struggle is real at this age . . . consistency w exercise and slow but steady sees to be working for you. Good job!

  5. Keeping our weight down is a constant struggle!
    We had dinner at my cousins last night and she put far too much on our plates.
    I like small portions now and that makes the difference.
    Sweet grandies on his ride-on!

  6. Your grandson is a DOLL! Oh, I totally get the deal with a single pound bringing you down another ‘decade’ of weight. That is huge! Congrats.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

