Friday’s Fave Five

friday fave five spring

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been a little quiet around the blog this week – I’ve been busy with other things. But here are some highlights of the week:

1. Timothy’s birthday! My little grandson turned 2 this week! Some of you may remember that two years ago he was born 10 weeks early and spent that whole ten weeks until his due date in the NICU. It was a very long and emotional time, as he’d experience pluses one day and then minuses the next. But I am so grateful God spared him. He has been such a joy, and I can’t wait to see how God uses his life!

IMG_1604

The card I made for Timothy’s birthday

2. A trip to a little zoo for Timothy’s birthday. We had planned to revisit the Knoxville zoo, but someone at my husband’s work told him about Little Ponderosa, so we decided to give it a try. We weren’t sure how big it would be and feared they might have only a handful of animals, but they had plenty. They also had paved trails, something else we had wondered about. We could walk up to most of the enclosures and touch and feed the animals. It was just the right size for Timothy’s age.

Timothy petting the goats in the spiffed-up wagon Granddad put together for him.

Timothy petting the goats in the spiffed-up wagon Granddad put together for him – came in handy when he got hot and tired near the end.

We went home for a nap and then got back together again for dinner, cake, and presents. All in all it was a wonderful day!

Toddler birthday dinner - mini tacos and juice boxes with car-themed plates!

Toddler birthday dinner – mini tacos and juice boxes with car-themed plates!

3. The adorable birthday cake my daughter-in-law made. He’s very much into anything on wheels right now, but especially cars.

Adorable birthday cake my daughter-in-law made.

4. Lunch at a favorite but distant restaurant. When we were first visiting the area to look at houses, schools, etc., before moving, we stayed in the same hotel, stocked up on supplies at the same W*Mart, and ate often at an Italian restaurant called Gondoliers.  I love their stuff, but they’re too far away for us to go to regularly. It was fun to be back in that area and to eat their Meat Eaters pizza there.

5. Not having to replace a shower curtain. My son’s shower curtain had what I thought was mildew over a good portion of it. I treated it in several ways with no luck. I looked around and this particular style was no longer sold, plus I couldn’t find anything in the colors I wanted. I decided to toss it in the washer – and it came out almost as good as new! I don’t know why just washing it worked when stronger treatments didn’t, but I was very glad I was going to be able to keep it.

That’s life – big blessings mixed in with the smaller everyday ones. I’m thankful for this opportunity to stop and count them.

Happy Friday!

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Such a wonderful blessing and miracle that your sweet grand has grown and thrived after his tough start in life. That cake is really cute. Glad you were able to enjoy the farther out restaurant. Enjoy your weekend,

  2. your grandson is adorable! i remember saying prayers for him when you shared he was a preemie. happy birthday to him..what a perfect theme for a 2 yr old! yay for the zoo!

    i have always tossed my shower curtain liner ( and shower curtains) in the white loads and wash on HOT!! havenever had an issue with mildew or mold as long as i do it every couple of months.

    happy weekend!

  3. The definitely is life…big and small blessings to be found if we but look. I love the pics from Timothy’s 2nd birthday! What a great blessing celebrating that. I well remember when he was born. It’s hard to believe it’s already been two years.

  4. Your grandson is so cute. Spending time with the grand kids is the best! Happy birthday to Timothy! I started washing my shower curtain a while back and it is such a great way to disinfect and refresh them and keep them looking new and clean! Enjoy the rest of the weekend and the coming week!

  5. A good mix, Barbara — from clean shower curtains to one very happy and healthy looking grandson. You must be thrilled to live close enough to be part of his life so regularly.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

