When the Cross Is Too Great

As I was compiling our church ladies’ booklet for this month, I came across the following in my files. It made me think of a couple of women in our  church whose husbands have passed away in the last few weeks as well as one couple whose wayward son has spent time in prison and is still unrepentant. I’m sure many others are carrying crosses that I am unaware of. I know some of you are weighed down with burdens or crosses of varying kinds as well: may you be blessed in knowing God’s presence and care.

“The road is too rough,” I said;
“It is uphill all the way;
No flowers, but thorns instead;
And the skies over head are grey.”
But One took my hand at the entrance dim,
And sweet is the road that I walk with Him.

“The cross is too great,” I cried–
“More than the back can bear,
So rough and heavy and wide,
And nobody by to care.”
And One stooped softly and touched my hand:
“I know. I care.  And I understand.”

Then why do we fret and sigh;
Cross-bearers all we go;
But the road ends by-and-by
In the dearest place we know,
And every step in the journey we
May take in the Lord’s own company.

 ~ Author unknown

 “And he said to all, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and
take up his cross daily and follow me.”
Luke 9:23

3 thoughts on “When the Cross Is Too Great

  1. Our loving Savior never leaves us alone and He never gives us a cross we cannot bear. True, we may have to carry some very heavy burdens but He is with us all along the way. Once we reach heaven our sorrows will be past and we will then see how each cross was used so as to mold us into beautiful vessels.

  2. Thank you for the reminder……. refocusing on Christ and not the burdens He allows. His strength and grace will see each of us through as we Focus on Christ and have the Attitude of the SACRIFICE of praise and thanksgiving to our wonderful Lord.(Hebrews 12:2,3; 13:15)
    Do appreciate your blog, thank you.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

