Friday’s Fave Five

FFF birds on a wire

Itโ€™s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

This hasn’t been a bad week – though there were a couple of mornings of extreme frustration — but as I thought about FFF, I couldn’t think of anything to share. Nothing really seemed to stand out, though there are things I could mention every week (family, books, music, etc.) But as I sat down to seriously think through the week and whether I’d have anything for a post, a number of things did come to mind. That’s one reason I am thankful for Susanne’s starting the FFF – it makes me stop, think, recount, and be thankful for blessings that might have just flown past me otherwise. So here are some faves from the week:

1. Excursions to Joann’s and Hobby Lobby are like “mom’s morning out” to me. I not only look for what I need, but enjoy roaming around the stores. I had gift cards to both places that just about paid for my purchases, an added bonus.

2. A disappearing snowflake on my weather apps. Earlier in the week, both apps I use showed a forecast for snow on Sunday – the first day of spring! Those are gone now, so hopefully that means we won’t get any of the white stuff – hopefully not until next winter.

3. My husband’s shoulder had been giving him serious pain from a strained muscle for a few weeks, but is mostly back to normal now. His sinus infection is on the mend as well.

4. Conflict resolution. We’ve had some issues lately with my m-i-l’s hospice service, the cause of the extreme frustration I mentioned at the beginning. After a couple of conversations that went well, with our being able to explain from our end and receptivity on their part, hopefully things will be resolved. So far so good.

5. A boy and a box. This box from something my husband had ordered was still in the living room when my grandson and his parents came by, and Timothy knew just what to do with it – use it for a baby boy cave. Or fort. Funny how little kids like to climb in boxes.

IMG_1574

Sorry it’s a little blurry – it’s hard to capture a constantly moving target. ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Friday!

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I think I could wander around in a Hobby Lobby for a whole day! I went to one in January and had to make myself leave. Soooo fun! Loved the photo of Timothy in the box. It’s so true! A box or blankets for a fort, and kids are happy.

  2. It is good to be able to reflect on the blessings we’ve had the past week, even if they weren’t really big. Have a great weekend.

  3. You might have had a hard time coming up with your five faves, but I think they were all great! It’s the little things that count. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Oh, Barbara, my grandtwins love cardboard boxes, too. I wish I had the space to keep one around for them all the time to play in.

    I understand extreme frustration, and I understand the relief when things get resolved. Here’s hoping all goes well from now on.

    Time to wander around Hobby Lobby? Priceless!

  5. Isn’t it great when a simple thing like a cardboard box can keep kids occupied for ages? I’m glad you had things to be thankful for. Sometimes we do need to just stop and reflect but not easy when we all lead busy lives. Have a good weekend.

  6. Yes, I love to wander through those stores too! Yesterday I bought some yarn at Ollie’s for the sixth grade daughter of a colleague, who is starting to learn to crochet. Intending to give it to her today anyway, I discovered this morning that today is her birthday!!

    The boy and the box are adorable. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I LOVE wandering through Hobby Lobby! i did that a couple of weekends ago! In fact, one of my FFF from last week was a spring photo with the doxology on it! thats weird that your husband has been dealing with shoulder pain…because MINe has too..ever since he retirned from Guatemala! He had an xray but it didnt show anything. glad yours is on the mend. yes toddlers do seem to just love boxes! helps with creative play๐Ÿ˜€

    enjoy a relaxing weekend!!

  8. Kids and boxes! My child care kids are thrilled whenever I go to Costco because it means new boxes! So glad you worked it all out with the hospice service. And how nice that you got a little trip to your favourite stores and were able to use some gift cards. Love shopping with gift cards.

  9. I love walking through craft stores as well. Meandering and browsing is very relaxing and I’m not even a crafty person. So it doesn’t make much sense that I like to do that, now that I think on it for a second. I like THINKING creatively even if I’m not capable of putting things together very well. And the seasonal decor is always fun. That to say, it’s relaxing to me too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Boxes are impossible for kids (and cats) to resist. I’m so glad you found some things to life your spirit from a frustrating week. Of course, as you are happier with fewer snowflakes, I’m searching for the clouds-with-rain icons ๐Ÿ˜‰ And having a resolution in view for that conflict definitely wins a place on FFF.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

