Laudable Linkage

It’s been a little while since I have been able to share some noteworthy reads I’ve discovered the last few weeks online. Here is my latest accumulation:

Good Principle, Wrong Text. From my favorite in-real-life former Sunday School teacher. ” Every time we derive an interpretation and application of a text that is not native to the context β€” no matter how Biblical the concept itself may be β€” we are robbing that text, and ourselves in the process, of the meaning and applications that God intended when He gave it. The key is not to read any verse as a devotional island, isolated from its immediate and larger context.”

Getting Women Into the Word.

Love Serves: Showing Christ’s Love on Valentine’s Day. Ways a family can minister to others on that day in particular, but the ideas are good for any time.

4 Ways to Love Someone With Dementia or Alzheimer’s, Like God Loves Us.

To the Grown Daughter Who Has Failed to Love Her Mother Well.

In the Bleak Midwinter: When Your Heart Loses Its Song.

How Caring For Children Changes the World. Interesting consideration of the five women involved in saving the life of Moses.

Five Ways Christian Fiction Builds Faith.

Hillary, Bernie, Donald, and Me. Neat article by John Piper, not about these people’s politics, but about their and other people’s goals and accomplishments in their 60s and 70s. Encouraging as I am in the far side of my 50s.

And to end the day with a smile:

birth weight

Happy Saturday!

3 thoughts on “Laudable Linkage

  1. Love the weight graphic. I guess our original weight is a bit unrealistic. πŸ™‚ I appreciate John Piper’s article too. I’m still adjusting to being over 50 (and I’ve had a few years already to get used to it!). Thanks also for sharing the Do Not Depart article on Alzheimer’s.

  2. I had read the article regarding Alzheimers on donotdepart.com. Very good. The weight graphic is so funny! Have a wonderful evening.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

