Friday’s Fave Five

fff winter button

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been quite the weather week: snow one day, rain another, freezing fog (I had never heard of that before) another, and cold throughout. Thankfully we did see sunshine a couple of afternoons – that is always uplifting this time of year.

Here are some highlights of the week:

1. Not getting a predicted snowfall. We’d gotten 4″ last week with another 3-4 forecast for Saturday, but thankfully only got maybe an inch or so that day.

2. A date at the fitness center. My husband and I tried out a nearby fitness center last Saturday. He had already joined and had a guest pass I’ve used a few times this week. I will probably be signing up this weekend. I never thought I’d do that – one thing I struggle with concerning exercise is making time, and to add on driving and changing time seemed too much when I could exercise in my own home. But another enemy of exercise is boredom, and the fitness center has a variety of machines and activities one can do. Jim likes doing laps in the pool. I enjoy their walking track and have tried out what I think is a sitting elliptical (like an exercise bike but also has the poles you moves back and forth with your hands) and another machine where you sit on a bench and rotate what looks like a bicycle wheel with your hands. My balance is a little too iffy for some of the standing machines, but it’s nice that there are others that you can really tell are working you out. Plus, as many of you know, with caring for my mother-in-law here, my husband and I just don’t get out much together. But we have someone with her in the mornings, and it was nice to walk and talk together. We’re talking about making it a regular Saturday event.

3. A cute pink gym bag. 🙂

IMG_1499

4. Christmasy fabric with pink in it. My dishes have pink flowers on them, so it is hard to find Christmas table linens that won’t clash with them. I was in Wal-Mart this week passing by the fabric department and saw this. Perfect! I think it is probably too small for a tablecloth, but I might try to make a runner or something out of it.

IMG_1500

It’s looking a little orangy in this photo, but in person it’s varying shades of pink.

5. Kids pitching in. My husband takes our garbage and recycling to a local center once a week, but it was closed this past week because of bad weather. He wouldn’t have another chance to do it through the week, and we were already over capacity and couldn’t let it go another week. So Jesse took care of it one morning this week. And Jason and Mittu made dinner and cleaned up the kitchen last Sunday. I appreciate their help greatly.

Hope you’re having a good week!

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I have tried both gyms and having exercise equipment at home and have found I need the motivation of actually having a membership otherwise the equipment all just sits there not being used except occasionally. And having a cute gym bag helps! Just saying! 😉

    Love when the adult kids pitch in and help. Our recycling builds up so fast!

  2. Your gym experience (and cute bag) are motivating, Barbara. I want to learn how to use the treadmill desk at work (it’s a treadmill with a flat surface where you can put your laptop or reading material). There’s also a gym there that no one uses… It’s so good you’ve got a close-by gym with activities and machines suited to your needs.

    So glad you had sunshine along with the array of cold weather, too! And congrats on finding that fabric. A runner sounds like a perfect purpose for it.

  3. Unexpected help is so nice. That is a very cute gym bag! Glad you missed the predicted amount of snow. Have a wonderful weekend.

  4. Barbara, I have to tell you what a blessing it is to my heart the way you praise your family for the things they do to help out. I know it isn’t something that you just “talk” about here in this space, but that because you are a sincere person that you are also telling them these things in person. How refreshing that is in this world we live in today.

    I’m so glad that you and your husband are enjoying doing the gym together. I do hope that you will be able to continue having that time together. While we don’t go to the gym my husband and I DO have a “date night” (Fridays). I think when we find ourselves in the position of caring for our elderly parents it is essential that we take that time to focus on one another. It makes us even more of a “team” in the caregiving portion of our lives.

    We had 31 inches of snow last weekend…and it has been snowing off and on all day today. The forecast is for an additional 2-5 inches. Our temperatures tomorrow are to be in the 50’s. 🙂

    Have a great weekend, my friend.

  5. how wonderful to have your children close by to help out! and yay for working out! keep it up! my hisband and i need to get back to the gym this winter….my hubby struggles with working out ever since his heart attack in 2014. he will go on walks with me and did some hiking with me this past summer though…..hm….maybe he should join a gym with a pool?

    i enjoyed reading your faves this week! happy weekend!

  6. I love the fabric, I tend to pick up scraps for small blogging projects. RE the gym, good luck, I have been terrible, the only way I am going to get exercise is by gardening and walking to and fro places.

  7. How great that you and your husband go to the gym together. The gym bag looks very efficient. I’ve talked to both my sons and they are also relieved that the snow didn’t get as deep as predicted. Have a great weekend, my friend.

  8. I think you will really like the sitting elliptical. It has done wonders to strengthen my knee. And once I got in the gym routine, it’s so much easier to go. There’s something motivating about being around others trying to exercise at the same time!!

  9. I have to say that I’m impressed with the gym membership. I always think about exercising in front of others and think that can’t be very pretty. Plus the getting in the car and driving thing sounds too much. 😀 OR I’m just too lazy!!! At any rate, it sounds like it’s a great little getaway at this present state of life and so I hope you do enjoy it!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

