Friday’s Fave Five

fff winter button

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been quite the weather week, with more to come this weekend. Here are some highlights of the past week.

1. More daylight. It’s now light when my husband gets home from work instead of dark! It’s a boost mentally to know that the days are getting longer after the winter solstice, but seeing evidence of it is even more of a boost.

2. Warmth. We’ve had our coldest temperatures so far this winter – down to 9 degrees one morning. (You know it’s been cold when 39 degrees feels like it’s “warming up.”) Plus 4 inches of snow with more expected tonight or tomorrow. I’m thankful for heating, blankets, sweaters, and everything to keep warm when it’s cold out – and thankful for safety on slushy roads, no loss of electricity, and no broken pipes. Also for plenty of supplies and efficient, cheerful service at a crowded grocery store when I ventured out yesterday.

3. Glasses. My W-Mart reading glasses weren’t quite doing the job, and I was thankful that I could just go and pick up the next level up at a store without having to see a doctor. I do still need to do that, and probably to talk about bifocals or progressive lenses, but it’s nice to have adequate resources til then.

4. Napping with Timothy. Sunday when my son and d-i-l were here, they said if I’d rock Timothy after dinner, they’d clean up the kitchen. Well, what grandmother can resist that offer. 🙂 He doesn’t sit still in our laps for too very long any more, so it was sweet to rock him for a while and doze off together.

5. “Puttering” is what I call getting odd, smaller, non-urgent jobs done around the house, and this has been a week full of that kind of thing. I wrote about some earlier in the week and have added more to the list since then. It’s nice to have a week with nothing else pressing so I can get to some of those things.

Hope you are warm and safe wherever you are this weekend!

12 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I too am thankful for my quilts and sweaters etc. It is such a comforting sound to hear the furnace kick on. You’ve had some pretty cold temps! I’m glad to see more daylight too although today it’s very dark and rainy and feels like it’s dawn instead of 9 am. Have a great weekend!

  2. What I wouldnt give to be able to rock our little Doodle Bug who was born Dec 27th…. I understand how peaceful it is that sleep for both just comes naturally!!! Have a blessed week!

  3. I had my own “napping” experience this week, in the church nursery. Very sweet times!! I too am glad for a warm, dry house this week – especially today. Good for us to remember such basics sometimes, because we should not take them for granted like it’s easy to do!

  4. I am thankful that the capital region of NY doesnt have any snow! I can deal with the cold temps this year but am soooo glad the snow is to the north and west of us here. ( and it looks like you all in the southern and midwestern region of the states are gettingmhit tonight!) be safe!

    how precious that you could rock your gramdson to sleep……i miss rocking my baby girls….

    keep warm and have a great weekend!

  5. I am also happy that the days are longer now and I don’t have to wait until it’s clear to open the shutters ! I am very lazy I think I am still in my winter sleep !

  6. Nothing better than rocking grandbabies…..Did you know I’m getting a great-grand in April…..the others are all teens or older so It’ll be nice to have a little one again…hope I see it often.
    Mama Bear

  7. Usually it’s me talking about the weather and snow and heaters and big fluffy quilts at this time of year. So odd to read so many blogging friends posting these while I am experiencing right balmy weather at 36*F with it supposedly getting to 48* by Thursday.

    You cuddle with that grandboy of yours as much as you can! What a sweet offer from his parents. I love the puttering kind of chores. No pressure in getting them done right now.

  8. I love puttering around the house too. I’ll pop over and read that post today.
    There’s noting better than snuggling a little one while he sleeps, is there?
    Have a great week!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

