Friday’s Fave Five

fff winter button

Itโ€™s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Thankfully it has been a much quieter week than the last few. I still haven’t gotten to some of the things I have been wanting to get done, but the peacefulness has been a blessing. Here are some of this week’s highlights:

1. An in-house date night. All the kids had other plans last Saturday night, so our in-house date consisted mainly of getting take-out from my husband’s favorite Asian restaurant. It was lovely not to have to cook or clean up after a meal.

2. Dinner at my son and daughter-in-law’s on Sunday. Jason got a new grill for Christmas and wanted to break it in, so my husband initiated him into the ways of the Grillmaster. ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Because of these first two, I basically had the weekend off from cooking except for Sunday morning breakfast and my mother-in-law’s stuff. Nice!

3. A husband who cleans up the kitchen on Sunday mornings. I always appreciate his help, but I don’t usually ask for it because he already works 10-12 hours most days. But when his mom first came to our home and we went through a number of different caregivers for her on weekends, he would always stay home from church the first few days we had anyone new, both to train them and to make sure of how they handled his mom. Since he was home those days, he would finish the dishes and wipe down the counters and stove while we were at church. Since we have a regular caregiver now and he’s been able to attend church again, he’s kept up the habit of cleaning up Sunday mornings. That’s been such a big help. Often I would not have time and then would have to clean up from both breakfast and lunch after church. This last Sunday, there was enough to start the dishwasher before we left, so to walk in after church and eating at J&M’s to a spotless kitchen and to just be able to rest and relax was heavenly.

4. A day of rest. With meals and kitchen clean-up taken care of, I don’t know why I was so wiped out on Sunday afternoon, except that I was out more than normal over the weekend. Those of you who read here regularly know that I place great importance on church. I know sometimes even if I’m feeling kind of draggy, by the time I get there, I’m fine and glad I went. But for whatever reason, I crashed when we got home in the afternoon and didn’t wake up til 6:30, then read for most of the evening. I felt so refreshed.

5. A limited allergic reaction. One day this week, my little grandson had an allergic reaction, we think from the strawberries in his yogurt at lunchtime. My d-i-l said he broke out into hives and tiny blisters. They started him on Benadryl right away and took him to the doctor as soon as my son could get home from work, and by that time everything had settled down. He’s supposed to stay on Benadryl for a while. Though I am sad he had a reaction, I’ve read of so many life-threatening occurrences requiring an ER visit from friends with kids who have allergies that I was glad it didn’t go that far.

If I were to add a bonus this week, it would be a good winter coat. We’ve been blessed with a very mild winter until recently. This week it has started actually feeling like January with the lowest temperatures we’ve had so far. I don’t like to wear my winter coat often because it’s so heavy, but when it is needed it sure does the job.

Hope you are warm and comfy where you are! Happy Friday!

8 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. How wonderfully restful your post is, Barbara — and how lovely to have help from your dear husband who pitches in wherever he can. I know what you mean about the peacefulness of a clean kitchen ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’m sure you all hope that Tim will outgrow his allergies. Glad his reaction could be managed in time.

  2. Allergic reactions are scary. I’m so glad that your grandson’s was mild. How nice to have a weekend free of a lot of cooking. I’m glad you were able to rest Sunday. Have a great day.

  3. Love it that you have a date night…we do, too! Friday night and it has become my favorite evening of the week! ๐Ÿ™‚ I just recently planned a month’s worth of menus and it was such fun writing in “date night” for the Friday night evening meal. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your husband is a blessing the way he helps you…and YOU are a blessing because of the consideration you give him when thinking of the long hours he works.

    Glad that Timothy’s allergic reaction was short lived. Good thinking to start him on Benadryl right away.

    Have a great weekend!

  4. praise God for takeout, hubby help and relaxing reading days! so thankful your little grandson is ok!!! i teach in a classroom that has to be nut free, mango and apple free!!!! enjoy the weekend and i hope it is another relaxing one for you.

  5. I used to love cooking but now after all these years I have enough ! It’s always very easy going and cleaning up had never been a problem between us, he is even quicker than me, lol ! My little grandson was allergic to a lot of things when he was a baby, almost to everything ! Milk and cats included. But growing up slowly it got better and now at 5 he is not allergic anymore to milk (he even drinks a lot) neither to cats. The only thing which remained are nuts and that is terrible. I didn’t know that there are nuts in so many food items ! We always have to read the contents of everything. If he eats one nut he has to get a shot immediately. Fortunately that happened only once, now he is himself careful.

  6. Hi. Thanks for stopping by my blog yesterday. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Glad you had a day of rest on Sunday. Were usually out and about on Sundays since hubby has the day off but, not sure what were doing this Sunday yet.
    My husband also helps clean up in the kitchen once in awhile. Which I am thankfull for even after long days at work.
    I am glad that your grandsons allergic reaction was managed on time. It’s a scary thing to go through that’s for sure.
    I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

  7. In house dates are fun too. We usually get pizza and a movie, or homemade popcorn. How nice to come home from church to nice, clean counters. So glad Benadryl handled the allergic reaction with Timothy.

  8. I’m so thankful for Benadryl and other allergy medications, too. We have shellfish allergies in our family and those pills have been life saving, literally. FYI, my mom was allergic to strawberries.
    A hubby who helps in the kitchen is the BEST (says the woman who is typing this as her hubby is making guacamole and washing dishes).

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

