Friday’s Fave Five

fff winter button

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

We’ve had a two-week break from FFF since the last two Fridays were on holidays. I’ve missed it, but I appreciated the break as well. I don’t know if I could have gotten posts in on those days, but even if I could have, I would not have had time to visit around, and I think if someone is going to participate in some thing like this, they should visit at least some of the others. I think most of us were probably in this boat. It’s funny, though, that FFF has become such a habit that I kept thinking of things I needed to write down for it. I’m thankful Susanne started us on this habit of noticing and acknowledging our blessings.

Some weeks I do keep a running list of things for the FFF, and I wish I had this time, because there was so much to be thankful for that I’m sure I can’t remember it all. I won’t try to recap the whole last three weeks, but here are some highlights of my favorite things.

1. Christmas, of course. From our “traditional” breakfast of cinnamon rolls, sausage rolls, and fruit, to reading the Christmas story, to a wonderful time exchanging gifts, especially with a 19-moth-old grandchild. πŸ™‚ To Christmas dinner with ham, cheesy potatoes, green bean casserole, to desserts of four different kinds of pies, to family time and enjoying being together. I did mess up Christmas dinner in two ways – I didn’t check to see how long the ham would take to bake, and when I started getting it ready, saw it was going to take much longer than expected. So we ended up having it for the evening meal rather than early afternoon. And then I had frozen rolls that I was supposed to take out to rise 3-5 hours before we needed them – and I totally forgot. But my family overlooked my oversights. πŸ™‚ I was also thankful that at some point during the week and a half of “Christmas break,” everyone pitched in to help in some way. More people in the house make for more food prep, dishes, etc., so it’s really nice to have help in those areas.

This is Timothy with a couple of his gifts – a child-sized chair and a stuffed doggie. πŸ™‚

IMG_0041

2. Family time. My oldest son came down and Jason and Mittu were able to be here a good bit even though Jason had to work a lot of overtime. It was fun just to sit and catch up, but we also enjoyed playing games, watching movies, going bowling, and doing a lot of eating. πŸ™‚

3. Harvest loaf cake. I made myself wait to make it until Jeremy came. I made extras for gifts for freezing and for later, and we’re working on the last mini-loaf currently.

4. Our 36th anniversary in Dec. We went out to a new restaurant we’ve been wanting to try, then dropped in on the kids at Jason and Mittu’s house. πŸ™‚ We actually went out the night after our anniversary because the restaurant we wanted to try wasn’t opened the night of, and on our actual anniversary, Jason and Mittu brought over some pie and chocolate covered nuts for our anniversary.

5. A perfect gift. It’s hard to know what to get for my mother-in-law at her stage of life. But somewhere a while back I saw someone mention a blanket gotten through collage.com which had family member’s pictures on it, so I tucked that idea away for Christmas. I was thoroughly pleased with how well it came out and surprised at how clear the photos looked on a fleece blanket (this is not an ad – I am just a pleased customer!) I can’t show you the whole thing because I don’t have everyone’s permission, but I made a row for each of her kids and their families, and here is our row:

GMA blanket 2

They had a more contemporary design where you could put the photos in a hodgepodge way in different sizes, but I couldn’t make the rows work that way.

I’ve also enjoyed end of the year activities like looking through the year’s posts and book reviews to choose favorites and then making reading plans for the year. I don’t usually make New year’s resolutions or choose words for the year for various reasons, but I do usually take some time the first week of the year after everyone else has gone back to work to evaluate and maybe set some goals for the year. So far my quiet week to do that hasn’t happened yet. πŸ™‚ Much to do, many interruptions, and much of it taking much longer than planned. So maybe next week!

It’s funny how it’s such a joy to change up the routine for the holidays, and then it’s nice to get back to the routine afterward, yet it’s still a bit sad to have the kids gone and the decorations down. But I think we’re pretty much transitioned to the New Year now, with its own tasks and things to look forward to.

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Hi – Happy Friday! I am so glad you and your mom-in-law were pleased with the collage blanket! My mom-in-law loved hers as well, and I was so pleased that I got one for myself! (I couldn’t resist – present to myself). We all have lots to be grateful for don’t we. I love taking the opportunity each week to recount blessings! Have a great week.

  2. What a nice idea that blanket was! Did she recognize everyone on it? I always enjoy reading your FFF blessings. Have a great night.

    • I’m not sure if she did – I didn’t see when my husband opened it and showed it to her (I was probably watching Timothy. πŸ™‚ ) I need to get it out some time and look at the different photos with her.

  3. what a great gift idea for your mother in law….i may steal that plan for 2016 Xmas!!

    I loved having the week off but was glad to get back to the routine of work due to it making the winter days go by quicker. of course here in eastern NY we have not had significant snowfall yet and xmas was 60 degrees F! i loved it!

    Happy New Year Barbara

  4. Wow; I would not even know that was part of a blanket to look at it. That came out extremely clear! Your little grandson is just so sweet. Happy 2016 and I enjoyed sharing your Christmas memories πŸ™‚ I know what you mean about it being so nice to take a bit of time off from the routine.

  5. Oh my gosh, Timothy has grown so much! Children do bring back the magic of Christmas. I snuck a peek at the Harvest Loaf recipe. It looks and sounds delicious. I love the idea of the photo blanket.

  6. Never mind the meal mix-ups — it sounds like you all had a wonderful time just being together and celebrating Christ’s birth with joy. No wonder you were so busy in the past weeks with anniversaries and your son in town. Like you, I found myself making mental lists, too πŸ˜‰

  7. Consider yourself “pinned”, my friend! That recipe for the Harvest Loaf Cake sounds SO SO good! Putting it on my “Food-Desserts” board on Pinterest was a sure way to get it made at some point this week. It will be nice to have a slice or two to put in my hubby’s lunch as a treat for him.

    I really like the idea of the special gift you gave to your mother-in-law for Christmas. I also like the pictures you chose for your family’s line. Such a unique idea!

    A belated Happy Anniversary to you and your husband. Thirty six years is quite an accomplishment. We will celebrate our 44th in March.

    As always, Barbara, I’ve enjoyed visiting here today. Loved the picture of Timothy on Christmas. πŸ™‚

  8. I agree it was good to get back in to the routine which includes FFF. What a blessing for you that all three of your boys were with you for Christmas.
    Timothy looks so excited about his presents–sweet!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

