What’s On Your Nightstand: December 2015

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

This is one month I am especially glad the Nightstand posts were moved to the last Tuesday of the month – I don’t think I would have gotten one in last week! It’s been a fun and busy month, but I am thankful for quiet moments of reading here and there.

Since last time I have completed:

The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, audiobook, reviewed here. Loved this – it is now one of my favorite classics.

The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron, reviewed here. Excellent!

Caregiver Devotions To Go by Gigi Murfitt, reviewed here. Very good.

A few of Grimm’s Fairy Tales for Carrie‘s Reading to Know Classics Book Club for November, reviewed here. I knew I wouldn’t be able to get the whole book in, but I enjoyed several more stories than I had thought I would.

Forever Christmas by Robert Tate Miller, reviewed here. Very nice.

Christmas Lessons by Patty Smith Hall, short review here. It was ok.

365 Meditations for Grandmothers by Grandmothers from six different authors, short review here. Not recommended.

All Creatures Great and Small by James Herriot, audiobook, reviewed here. Enjoyed it.

I’m currently reading:

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson. It is still slow going, but I am getting more from it now.

Why Christ Came: 31 Meditations on the Incarnation by Joel R. Beeke

A Prairie Christmas Collection: 9 Historical Christmas Romances from America’s Great Plains by authors including Tracie Peterson and Deborah Raney.

Next Up:

I am not entirely sure yet. I’ve been thinking over reading plans and challenges for the next year but haven’t worked out my plans yet. But I know at some point I’ll be taking in these Christmas presents along with the chocolates beside them. 🙂

Book gifts

I’ll be working on year-end book lists and favorite books of the year in the next couple of days.

12 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: December 2015

  1. Thanks for reminding me about the Nightstand post! 😉 Looks like you had a great month of reading despite the holidays. With this wonderful group of friends sharing their reads it’s hard to lack anything to read. The reviews and recommendations are so many!
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I may look into The Yearling in 2016!

  2. How fun that you got so many books (and chocolate!!) for Christmas! Your gifters know you well 🙂 I’ve heard so much about Gilead and need to read it this year. I must be odd in that I don’t really plan my reading for the year — I just look over my Goodreads “to read” list (or make notes of what I’d like to read as I see reviews online), see what the library has, and plunge in. Happy reading in 2016!

  3. I haven’t joined in with this for quite awhile. Maybe I will again although I haven’t much to report. Great bunch of books you have picked out!

  4. I love All Creatures Great and Small. It’s been years since I last read it. I should re-read it this coming year.
    I do not think I will join any challenges, if I do, the challenge will need to be a high interest for me and very doable. I did not participate in any challenges last year and it was very freeing for me.

  5. I read Gilead a few years ago and enjoyed it, it is a bit slow but the writing is beautiful. I didn’t know there was a third book, I’ll have to check it out! You read some great books this month. Thanks for sharing! –Nancy@5M4B

  6. I love seeing what other people are reading. You and I seem to like the same book genres. I like to read things that uplift – not drag down. I recently read Beverly Lewis’ book, the photograph and liked it. Hope you enjoy it too. You and yours have a very happy new year!

  7. You always do so well at getting in some Christmas books. I intended to do that this year, but alas, I never did. ha. Maybe next year? 🙂 I’ll look forward to reading about the books and challenges you’ll choose for 2016.

  8. I like to see what others are reading…I even checked your review on the first book…my book club meets on the 8th of January to choose our books for the year..each member is supposed to bring 3 suggestions and a short description of them, then we try to choose 12 books from those. So I am busy looking for suggestions.
    Mama Bear

  9. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: January 2016 | Stray Thoughts

  10. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: March 2016 | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

