Friday’s Fave Five

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been a full week here getting ready for Christmas. I know I don’t have to get it all done before my oldest son comes next week, but I’d like to conquer as much as possible. One moment it seems to be going pretty well – the next, it still feels like there is a ton to do! Here are some favorite highlights of the past week:

1. The church ladies’ Christmas party. I hadn’t been sure that I’d make it, but thankfully I did. The fellowship and activities were fun, and we heard a wonderful testimony of God’s grace in very hard times.

2. Sunday lunch at my son and daughter-in-law’s. Normally they come here due to my mother-in-law’s situation, but my daughter-in-law’s mom was here for a visit, and they invited us to lunch there. Great-grandma’s caregiver was able to stay a bit later, so we were able to go. Enjoyed the visit, plus it was nice not to have to think about what to make when we got home from church! We enjoyed hosting them here a few days later. I forgot to mention last week that my wonderful daughter-in-law made hamburger pie the day we did our Christmas decorating. That was a big help, plus it was yummy!

3. The children’s Christmas program at church Sunday night. They always do the nativity story, though with different songs each year, and it’s neat to see different kids in the different roles each year. It just wouldn’t seem like the Christmas season without the kids’ program!

4. Making progress with Christmas preparations. Almost have the shopping done, am just about finished with our annual Christmas letter, I plan on addressing cards tonight, and have made a start on wrapping.

5. Beef! We don’t have it often, for health and financial reasons, but I crave it every now and then. A local store advertised roasts on sale, but by the time I got there, the last day of the sale, there were only two left which didn’t look very good. But stew meat was on sale right next to it. So I dumped that in the crockpot with potatoes and carrots and have been enjoying the leftovers for a couple of days now.

Bonus: Christmas music! I love the older carols and newer songs of the season. BBN Radio is playing all Christmas music this month, and that and listening to our own collection while cooking, wrapping, etc., has been a special blessing.

I hope your Christmas preparations are going well, both in activity and heart. 🙂 Happy Friday!

6 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Sounds like you are well into the Christmas cozy season with good food (esp when someone else is cooking!) and music and cards ready to send out. I’m so glad you could arrange to be with your daughter-in-law for that special occasion.

  2. I ordered a crock pot with some birthday money and it came today. I also have stew meat in the freezer so I might be joining you with the stew. Glad you were able to get to your woman’s Christmas party. Our church’s Christmas program is this Sunday. Have a great day.

  3. Our kiddos’ Christmas play is this Sunday. It is always a highlight. Sometimes I stress about what we’ll do, but it really is okay that it is “just” a telling of the nativity.

    How nice to be so far along in your Christmas prep. That is a satisfactory feeling and cuts down on the stress. Thanks for including the link to BBN radio. I am listening to that station as I type this.

    That Hamburger pie was a tasty treat from a thoughtful d-i-l.

    Have a great week, Barbara.

  4. I love stew so that wouldn’t have bothered me a bit! Beef is crazy expensive here too so it’s getting less frequent on my menu for sure. I love the kid’s Christmas concerts too. Love the unexpected that always occurs when kids are on stage. Hubby makes wonderful Christmas CD’s for me out of favourite hand picked carols and songs of the season. Love that I can it with me in the car too.

  5. I love stew but I use chicken or bison now. and not often as bison around here tends to be pricey. BUT..I JUST learned about a bison farm about 20 minutes away so I think I’m gonna check it out during my xmas break.

    I love Christmas plays, children’s programs, etc. too…always fun to see the little ones.

    YAY for Xmas music!! I hope you’ve had a restful weekend…PEACE to you.

  6. Oh I love all the Christmas carols!
    We’re working on our Christmas letter, but nothing else has been done here. Once the semester is over for the Professor and we are both on break, we’ll focus on Christmas 🙂
    Thanks for having your son give such great advice. The Professor is a computer science prof but he hasn’t found the ‘key’ to the hijacking problem. We’ll look in to the adware.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

