Friday’s Fave Five

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s so hard to believe we’re into December already! Here are some highlights of the week:

1. Decorating for Christmas. It was a really enjoyable day all together. We found a new spot to get a tree (our previous place closed down, and getting a tree at Home Depot last year just wasn’t the same). Having a little helper this year was great fun, too. πŸ™‚

IMG_0014(1)

IMG_0004

2. Turkey Bone Soup. One of my favorite leftover turkey dishes.

3. Not having rain and cold on the same days. πŸ™‚ The beginning of the week was rainy and overcast, but temperatures were in the 50s. By the time we got down into the 30s later in the week, the rain had gone. If the situation had been reversed – we would have had a mess of icy and/or slushy roads. I’m sure we will at some point this winter, but I am glad we escaped it this week.

4. Online shopping. It was good to knock out the greater part of Christmas shopping at home all in one morning.

5. A turn for the better. My younger two sons both work in customer service in the same online company. Of course, Black Friday and Cyber Monday generated a lot of business, which they were expecting, but some problems in their system caused trouble for both them and their customers. Jesse came home Wednesday night quite discouraged – no matter how much he worked, the number of tickets they needed to answer kept rising by the hundreds. But a server upgrade Thursday plus the end of their extended Cyber Monday sales has made catching up look possible again, and he was in a much better frame of mind yesterday.

Happy Friday! Hope you have a great week ahead.

 

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Yes, thank heavens for online shopping! Your tree looks so pretty and it is always so much more fun to decorate when a little one is there to help! I’m glad that your weather isn’t causing you too much of a problem. Have a great day.

  2. Thanks so much, Barbara, for sharing the pictures. Loved seeing little Timothy helping and exploring the tree! Your tree skirt is so pretty. Did you make it?

  3. Adorable pictures of the little one helping!! Christmas is always so fun the year that a little child really has a sense that something special is going on – even more so than that first year when they aren’t quite old enough to “get it.”

  4. Sigh. Christmas shopping. I dread it every year, even the little that we do. That being said, I’m maybe half done. I hope you finish yours quickly and without incident.
    What a sweet picture of Santa’s helper aka Timothy! Making memories πŸ™‚

  5. How cool to have three generations of your family decorating the tree. The photo of your Grandson is adorable. Could you show us a photo of your tree skirt? I love tree skirts and the colours on your skirt are vibrant and appealing.

    Thanks for the reminder about online shopping. I knew there was something I forgot to put on my weekend list! Hurray for you and getting so much done already.

    Bone soup is quite the rage. A friend made some for me (still have my cold) and oh, my – SUCH A MARVELOUS taste. Now I know what that fuss is all about. I really want to make some. I can see why that is a FAVE for you.

    Have a great week, Barb.

  6. It’s looks like it’s going to be fun around your home at Christmas time! How sweet! I’ll be making turkey noodle soup this weekend. Love those leftovers! I do not do any black Friday shopping and I only just got a new computer that would even begin to allow me to shop online. So I didn’t do any cyber Monday shopping either. Glad they got their system working…

  7. Ugh — technology and the “new” problems they bring! I’m glad the pile of mounting issues has been reduced. My brother is in retail also and felt the same about the surge being over ;-). And I’m with you on the online shopping – so convenient and much much easier without crowds or lines.

    It’s so sweet to see your little Tim taking part of a family tradition. What a wonderful blessing to have the family near by and so accessible.

  8. Decorating for Christmas with little ones is a pleasure and an adventure. πŸ™‚ Love seeing the pictures of Timothy “helping out.” What fun!

    I’m with you on celebrating days when it is not both cold AND rainy. I can do one or the other, but both really begin to get to me. πŸ˜›

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

