What’s On Your Nightstand: November 2015

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

I don’t know where this month has gone! But I’m glad for being able to squeeze in time to read even when the days fly by.

Since last time I have completed:

Knowing God by J. I. Packer, reviewed here. It well-deserves being called a Christian classic.

The Dead Secret by Wilkie Collins, the last of my classics challenge books, reviewed here. Enjoyed it quite a lot.

Come Rain or Come Shine, Jan Karon’s latest, reviewed here. Loved it!

Child of Mine by David and Beverly Lewis, reviewed here. Very good – different from her usual setting.

I’m currently reading:

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson. I’m afraid I’m having trouble getting into this one, but I have heard nothing but good about it, so I will persevere.

The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings audiobook. Just finished this and hope to review it tomorrow

The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron. This one is a real page-turner so far!

Caregiver Devotions To Go by Gigi Murfitt

Next Up:

A few of Grimm’s Fairy Tales for Carrie‘s Reading to Know Classics Book Club for November. I was planning on starting them after The Yearling but didn’t realize that one would take so long. But it’s good and the fairy tales are short, so we’ll see how many I can work in before the end of the month.

Unlimited by David Bunn

Something Christmasy: either Forever Christmas by Robert Tate Miller or Christmas Lessons by Patty Smith Hall – or both if time allows.

Happy reading!

9 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: November 2015

  1. I enjoyed Come Rain or Come Shine. Seemed a little more scattered than the others but I loved the story of Lace and Dooley.
    Glad you got some reading time in. My reading is still speradic but I am getting a few pages in each day anyway.
    Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving Barbara!

  2. I’m interested to hear what you think of “The Yearling”. I’ve read “Cross Creek” where Marjorie lived and it was very interesting. I have her home place on my list to visit this next year. It’s part of a Florida State park system about an hour away from where I live. It is where she wrote “The Yearling”. Have a great day.

  3. Okay, I”m going to have to read Gilead soon. I’ve heard so many who LOVED it. My college daughter just thought it was “meh.” So, now I’m curious … 🙂

  4. I guess it is time for a Christmas read, yes? I have several free Kindle books that I’ve downloaded over the years; maybe I’ll pull one up for December. I never could get into Gilead (only person in America who couldn’t?), so I never finished it.

  5. ‘Knowing God’ is a favorite of mine. I will have to check out your review. I also have read ‘The Butterfly and the Violin’ and enjoyed it. I’ve just started on some Christmas books and shared them on my blog. I love this time of years. : )

    Happy Reading!

  6. I’m kinda kicking myself for not taking The Butterfly and the Violin for review when it was offered. You’re the second person who I’ve seen offer some positive remarks on it. Ah well. I’ll have to seek it out for myself.

    And yet again I missed Nightstand because I was thinking that there was another week to go in November. 😛

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

