Friday’s Fave Five

FFF fall background

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Here are a few highlights of the week:

1. Sunshine! It’s been overcast much of the week, so seeing sunshine later in the week was a real boost.

2. Time with Timothy. His parents had an event to go to, so we enjoyed an evening with him.

IMG_1413

Jason and Mittu got him his own little coffee cup, and when they drink coffee, he likes to pretend to drink his own and then “clink” cups with them, so here he’s sharing a cup with Granddad. πŸ™‚

3. A restful Saturday. I know why God gives babies to younger women! πŸ™‚ I was pretty well wiped out after baby-sitting Timothy for 5 hours. Thankfully there was not much that just had to be done on Saturday. I don’t often just sit down with a book in the middle of the day, but I did then. I was actually hoping to drift off to sleep and kept being awakened just as I was doing so, but it was still a nice rest day.

4. Another baby shower and fun night out with the ladies.

5. Organizing my Pinterest Food board. I was searching it for Crockpot meals, but it was so unwieldy it was hard to find anything. Originally I was going to separate out just the crockpot meals into a separate board, but I ended up doing the same for breads and side dishes. I already had separate boards for sweets, appetizers, low calorie/healthy foods, and gluten-free dishes (for my d-i-l and a few folks at church). I also deleted some duplicates and “Why did I ever pin that?” entries. Though I hated to spend the time on it, I think it will be more usable in the future.

Somehow it just hit me Wednesday that Thanksgiving is next week!. I knew it was coming, but I lost a week in there somewhere. I guess I better go turkey shopping! Happy Friday!

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Sunshine truly is a gift from God, isn’t it, my friend? We are having an all out sunshiny day today and I am loving it!

    The picture of Timothy and his Granddad is precious!

    I’m glad that you were able to have a restful day on Saturday. I, too, understand why it is that God gives babies to younger women! πŸ™‚ Although ours are far past little Timothy’s age it definitely made a difference when they were that age.

    How fun that you were able to get out for the baby shower and have fellowship with other ladies. I know you are in so much by being a caregiver for your mother-in-law, so when you have opportunity to get out a bit I am happy for you.

    There will just be the two of us for Thanksgiving this year, so we settled for a turkey breast since that is what we enjoy the most. They were on sale a couple of weeks ago so I got a couple then and put them in the freezer. The grocery store has been so crowded the last two weeks that I’ve been there I’m not certain I want to attempt to stop again. πŸ™‚ Happy turkey hunting!

  2. We had cloudy, rainy skies early this morning but the sun came out later and it’s been so pretty. I understand what you mean about those little ones tiring us out! Yes, God knew what He was doing when He made the younger women to be mothers! Have a blessed day.

  3. You got a chuckle out of me on the editing of your Pinterest food boards. I have certain recipes bookmarked that were clearly made when I had obviously over-estimated my patience or skill (or both!) or just delusional.

    Love that sweet picture of your two beloveds clinking mugs πŸ˜‰

  4. I know what you mean about the Pinterest boards. Not too long ago I created different boards for different food categories but I never went to my original Recipe board and sorted it into categories. I hate to spend time on it, yet it is so useful to look at recipes on my phone while I’m in the kitchen. I guess it is worth the time and trouble!

    I also know what you mean when you say you are tired after babysitting for 5 hours! But it’s a good kind of tired …

  5. i love that your grandson has his own coffee cup!! sooo cute! yay for your clean up of pinterest,,..,i should do the same! yes thanksgiving has snuck up on me as well ….I need to pack on sunday as we leave for Boston right after work on Tuesday. I will be glad to get to our hotel and sleep in a little on Wednesday. I hooe you enjoy the holiday and get more reading time!πŸ˜€

  6. I can’t believe Thanksgiving is next week. Even though it’ll be low-key around here, I still better get on the stick with the planning since I’m the one doing the cooking!
    We had extremely high winds on Tuesday. Gusts up to 60 mph. There were many tree limbs down, and a roof blew off someone’s shop. Our neighbor’s trampoline was bent in half and hanging over their fence. Yikes! We were fortunate to not have any damage, only lawn furniture moved around.
    My daughter and I are looking forward to a ladies’ tea tomorrow, though I will not wear a hat!
    Your grandson is getting so big. What a blessing!

  7. I believe you that you were wiped out after babysitting ! I am half dead when Toby was here over the weekend ! When his parents are there he is completely different !

  8. Awww, clinking coffee with Grandpa. So cute! I’ve had a few “Why did I ever pin that?” pins too. I’m sure you will like using your boards better now that they are placed into those categories.

  9. And now that I’m catching up and reading this post, I’m glad to see that I’m not the only person who loses track of time! This month really was over before I knew it!

    I’m sure J&M so appreciate being able to bring Timothy over like that. What a blessing. Love his own little coffee cup. πŸ™‚ That’s cute and I bet he loves that!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

