Book Review: Child of Mine

Child of MineIn Child of Mine by David and Beverly Lewis, Jack Livingston is a flight instructor raising his niece. His brother and sister-in-law had adopted Natalie, called Nattie, but they died in an accident when she was young. Nattie has had an Amish nanny, Laura Mast, all her eight years of life. Jack’s sister, San (short for Sandra) helps as well.

Kelly Maines has spent eight years looking for her baby, who had been kidnapped and then sold. Sympathetic interest and funding has begun to drop off. She’s not sleeping well, she’s lost weight, and her life has been consumed with following one lead after another.

Readers will guess that these lives will intersect at some point, and they do, but the plot doesn’t end up anything like I expected it would due to some twists and turns.

I can’t say too much more about it because I don’t want to give anything away, but I very much enjoyed the book. It’s different from Beverly’s usual style in that it’s not set among the Amish though an Amish woman is a main character. It’s not the first book collaboration for husband and wife, David and Beverly, but it is the first I’ve read of their work together, though I have read many of Beverly’s before. Now I need to go look up their first one.

(This review will also be linked to Semicolon‘s Saturday Review of Books.)

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Child of Mine

  1. Thanks for the review. My cousin has sent me over the year at least 45 Amish fiction books that she is finished with. I best get cracking, I guess!

  2. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: November 2015 | Stray Thoughts

  3. Pingback: Books Read in 2015 | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

