Friday’s Fave Five

FFF fall background

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Here are a few highlights of the week:

1. Mexican food take-out. Love chicken chimichangas and chips and cheese dip!

2. Running into an old friend in the grocery store parking lot and catching up for a few minutes.

3. Pizza from a local business. Jesse and I love pizza from a local non-chain restaurant, but my husband isn’t fond of it. He had to be out for dinner one night this week, and though I don’t like that, it was an opportunity to get pizza from this place.

4. Single serving soup. Jesse and I were just discussing how we wished that the Bear Creek soup mixes (we LOVE the cheddar potato) came in smaller versions. The one we usually use makes more than enough for dinner one night and a couple of lunches later in the week, but sometimes you only want one or two servings. Then when I went to the store I saw just that! I haven’t tried it yet but I am optimistic it will be as good as what we’ve been having.

5. Safety. I pass through one particular intersection in front of W-Mart at least once a week: it has no traffic light and I have to turn left across several lanes of traffic, but I am usually careful to look both ways before pulling out. But one day last week somehow I missed seeing a car in the lane I was entering and didn’t realize it until he swerved, honking, around me. For some reason then he just stopped in front of me straddling the line dividing two lanes. We hadn’t hit, so I tried to pull past him, and then he pulled out in front of me, wagging his finger at me. I was behind him for several blocks, and whenever we were stopped, he’d look back at me in his rear-view mirror and make angry gestures pointing to his head, indicating he thought I was crazy, speaking constantly and animatedly (which I am glad I could not hear). I was relieved when we finally went in different directions. I wished I could have apologized, but on the other hand I was glad I didn’t have to actually speak to the guy. I wanted to say, “Look, I’m sorry. It was stupid of me – I don’t know how I missed seeing you. But everyone is okay and there was no harm done, so can we move on now?” And that was a reminder to me as well that when I am steamed over another driver’s actions, to just let it go and move on instead of rehearsing it and stewing over it way too long. So I am thankful for safety both from my dumb mistake and from road rage.

Hope you have a great weekend!

14 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Always enjoy reading your Friday’s Fave Five!

    Am wondering, though, about that last one. We got a message from AAA regarding staged collisions, and there was recently an article about this type of scam in our daily paper as well. You can read about it here: http://www.northernnewengland.aaa.com/home/automotive/maintain-vehicles/automotive-research-center/staged-collisions.html. Regardless of how it happened, though, we praise God for safety! He may have protected you from more than a damaged vehicle.

    • Yikes! I hadn’t even thought of that. Thankfully it didn’t work if that’s what he was trying for. But I do think in this case i just didn’t see him when I pulled out.

  2. I’m glad you had a good week and that you were safe. Reading your #5 and then nikkipolanikkipolani’s comment made me think of my visits to Mexico City when some of our family lived there as missionaries. Many times my relative would say that the person in front of us was trying to get involved in an accident with making the American to be at fault. I’m just grateful that you were safe because the incident certainly reminded me of how real road rage can be.

  3. Oh that’s not a nice feeling when things like that happen – he doesn’t sound like a very nice person. Glad no one was hurt.

    I wonder if we can get Bear Creek soup mixes up here – Cheddar potato sounds do good. I love soup this time of year.

    Always lovely to run into an old friend.

    Happy weekend!

  4. chimichangas are my favorite I get them every time we go for mexican.
    OH, I pulled out in front of someone the other day too. The weather was hazy and yucky and I just missed them… These things happen, we aren’t perfect. I’m sure that guy has done the same to someone before too. Glad you are safe though. You never know these days what someone like that will do!

  5. I love Mexican food, but my hubby doesn’t. So like you with the pizza place, I try to get Mexican when he is not with me.

    I hate when things like #5 happen. It’s bad enough when you know you made a mistake – we all do that from time to time – but for someone to act like a jerk just makes it worse. And it changes nothing.

  6. Some drivers just won’t let bygones be bygones. I’m glad you’d didn’t have to listen to his abuse and I’m glad you were okay. Glad you got your pizza. Mom doesn’t like it much either so I only get it every once in awhile.

  7. So glad that the close call was exactly that, just a close call and no accident. That happens to everyone and I’m sure that driver who just couldn’t let it go has had the shoe on his other foot where he was the one who made the mistake. I love soup and usually end up making way too much but I do like it for lunches sometimes even breakfast. I don’t know that I’ve ever had a chimichanga. I’ll have to try one next time we do Mexican.

  8. Road rage is scary and it’s easy to forget that people just don’t see you. Good reminder for us in both instances.
    We love soup too. I make minestrone soup or lentil soup and then we have lots of leftovers for lunches. Yum!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

