31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot: Several Short Quotes

Elisabeth Elliot2

As I knew would happen, there were many more quotes from Elisabeth that I wanted to share than there were days in October for the Write 31 Days project. I decided to put a few of the shorter ones together in one post:

From A Lamp For My Feet.

To listen to one word and go out and obey it is better than having the most exalted “religious experience.” “The man who has received my commands and obeys them–he it is who loves me: and he who loves me will be loved by my Father; and I will love him and disclose myself to him” (Jn 14:21). There is the order: hear, do, know.

From Keep a Quiet Heart:

If my life is once surrendered, all is well. Let me not grab it back, as though it were in peril in His hand but would be safer in mine!

IMG_1393

Convicting, isn’t it? And it is so silly that we do this, but too often we do.

I don’t know which of Elisabeth’s writings this came from, but it is short and sweet and very helpful:

“Pray when you feel like praying. Pray when you don’t feel like praying. Pray until you do feel like praying.”

IMG_1392

From a chapter titled “God’s Curriculum” in  Keep a Quiet Heart:

An angry retort from someone may be just the occasion we need in which to learn not only longsuffering and forgiveness, but meekness and gentleness; fruits not born in us but borne only by the Spirit.

Too often I fail to learn that lesson and react in a fleshly manner instead of a spiritual one, so I am thankful for this reminder to seek the Spirit’s help in reacting in a right way.

I don’t know the source of this one, either:

A surrendered mind is not one which is no longer in operation. It is, rather, a mind freed from rebellion and opposition. To be Christ’s captive is to be perfectly free.

From Keep a Quiet Heart in a section on self-image:

If I’m so beautiful and lovable, what was Jesus doing up there, nailed to the cross and crowned with thorns? Why all that hideous suffering for the pure Son of God? Here’s why: There was no other way to deliver us from the hell of our own proud self-loving selves, no other way out of the bondage of self-pity and self-congratulation. How shall we take our stand beneath the cross of Jesus and continue to love the selves that put Him there? How can we survey the wondrous cross and at the same time feed our pride? No. It won’t work. Jesus put it simply: If you want to be My disciple, you must leave self behind, take up the cross, and follow Me.

Finally, this is from a chapter titled, “Nevertheless We Must Run Aground” in Love Has a Price Tag:

Heaven is not here, it’s There. If we were given all we wanted here, our hearts would settle for this world rather than the next. God is forever luring us up and away from this one, wooing us to Himself and His still invisible Kingdom, where we will certainly find what we so keenly long for.

Someone suggested that I share a list of Elisabeth’s books, so I will do that tomorrow, along with a video shown at her memorial service.

See all the posts in this series here.

_____________________________________________________

This is the last day to enter DaySpring.com’s contest for Write 31 Days readers. To enter to win a $500 DaySpring shopping spree, just click on this link & follow the giveaway widget instructions by October 30. Best wishes, and thanks for reading!

8 thoughts on “31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot: Several Short Quotes

  1. Pingback: 31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot | Stray Thoughts

  2. These are a great collection, Barbara. The one about those angry retorts being a learning occasion is always a challenge because I tend to react rather than be thoughtful to practice patience and gentleness.

  3. I’m looking forward to coming back and reading all of the Elisabeth Elliot posts that you have done this month…looking forward to tomorrow’s post, also, with the video!

    These words, “A surrendered mind is not one which is no longer in operation. It is, rather, a mind freed from rebellion and opposition. To be Christ’s captive is to be perfectly free.” say so much. Our freedom is not wrapped up in what we want to do, but rather by us not being rebellious and opposing the things God asks of us.

    Thanks so much for sharing these quotes, Barbara. xo

  4. Looking forward to tomorrow’s post. 🙂 But I don’t think I agree with Elisabeth that we can’t love ourselves. After all, Leviticus 19:18 says: “Love your neighbour as yourself,” and Jesus loves us, so I think we should love ourselves too. Psalm 45:11 says “The king is enthralled by your beauty,” and we can see beauty in others and ourselves because we were made in God’s image.

    • I don’t think she was saying that we can’t or shouldn’t love ourselves, but rather that we usually do too much, to the point of putting ourselves before others and even before God’s will.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

