31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot: No Further Than Natural Things

Elisabeth Elliot2

This is from Elisabeth’s book A Light For My Path:

“Well, it’s perfectly natural for you to feel that way,” I was telling myself when I was upset with the way someone had treated me. “It’s a normal reaction.”

It was a normal reaction for a carnal mind. It was not normal for a spiritual one. The carnal attitude deals with things on one level only–this world’s. It “sees no further than natural things” (Rom 8:5 JBP).

Is there a telescope that will bring into focus things I would not see with merely “natural” vision? There is. “The spiritual attitude reaches out after the things of the spirit.” It is a different means of perceiving. It will enable me to see what I could not have seen with the naked–that is, the carnal–eye.

It works. When I looked at that person who had offended me through the “spiritual eye,” I saw in him one of God’s instruments to teach me, instead of one of the devil’s to torment me. I saw something more. I saw a person God loves, and whom He wants to love through me.

We’re called to have a supernatural reaction, not a natural one, and we can only do that by the Holy Spirit’s indwelling and power. My problem is that sometimes I want to give myself the excuse to “wallow” in what seems a justifiable natural reaction. But we can’t do that if we want to answer God’s call to live and walk as Christ did. May He fill me with His love every day, every moment of my life.

And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.  Ephesians 5:2

IMG_1379

See all the posts in this series here.

_____________________________________________________

DaySpring.com is celebrating all of the amazing Write 31 Days readers who are supporting nearly 2,000 writers this October! To enter to win a $500 DaySpring shopping spree, just click on this link & follow the giveaway widget instructions by October 30. Best wishes, and thanks for reading!

9 thoughts on “31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot: No Further Than Natural Things

  1. Pingback: 31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot | Stray Thoughts

  2. This is one that I definitely struggle with – feeling justified in continuing in my fleshly reactions to people. This quote is so good in reminding us to stop and let the Spirit of God inform our view of and reaction to others. Thanks so much for sharing!

  3. How easy to have that natural reaction and then regret it later. Sometimes I reacti like a firecracker! A good post, Barbara.

  4. We are called to have a supernatural reaction.
    Need that as I need to remind myself to depend on, surrender to the Holy Spirit each day. So he is guiding my reactions.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

