Friday’s Fave Five

FFF tamara'sIt’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been down into the 50s at night and downright nippy a few mornings, and the day time has been quite pleasant and sunny. Here are some fave moments of the last week:

1 A family outing. We hadn’t had one since August, and I was feeling a little cooped up with Jim having been away a little more than usual lately, so I suggested we go visit the Mast General Store downtown and then eat lunch at a little sandwich and gelato shop nearby on Saturday. I had never been to either before and I enjoyed reading some of the history of Mast on the way. It was a fun morning.

2. A new dish towel from the store we visited. I didn’t get it just for the birds, though I like them, but mainly because it is hard to find “fluffy” dish towels any more.

IMG_1376

3. A zucchini cookie at the aforementioned shop. I’d had zucchini bread and zucchini cake before, but not a cookie. This was excellent.

zucchini cookie

4. A football game is not something I had thought I would ever have on any kind of favorite list, but we’ve watched a couple of UT Vols games lately. The first one was their game against Oklahoma, which is where Mittu is from, so she was rooting for the Sooners. 🙂 UT started out well ahead in that game and then lost. We ended up watching last Saturday’s game as well, which they won. I googled a couple of basic things during the game, like “What is a first down” and a “first and ten.” Such was my ignorance. 🙂 But it did help to know those things! Who knows, I may become a fan yet.

5. A few hours with no interruption has gotten to be almost a rarity these days, but I had one such glorious afternoon this week and was able to get several posts ahead on my 31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot series for Write31 Days.

Happy Friday!

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. LOVE your new dish towel. I love Mast General stores. The first one I’d ever seen was in Hendersonville, and now there’s one in Greenville, downtown. They always have the coolest array of things! I LOVE American football, but alas, we don’t see it here. It’s one of the sacrifices of life overseas. We did get to see the Rugby World Cup games. We’re Googling rugby rules just like you’re figuring out American football. What a funny world!

  2. Hurray on being able to get a little ahead on your #write31days series. Keeping up is certainly a time commitment. I am a little ahead for next weekend as I will be on a retreat then.

    LOVE your new tea towel. Glad you found your fave kind of drying towel. I like to get the plain cotton ones.

    Time alone and a date with your hubby sound like refueling times.
    Have a great week.

  3. I heard that Tennessee game was a good one. I know a fair amount about football but not enough. ha. I’m actually following a 31 Days series this time about rules of football. It’s been very helpful. 🙂

  4. Oh my, Barbara! That cookie looks yummy…and I love the dishtowel. The birds really add some color.

    I am so glad to read that you had some time to yourself that you could work on your posts of 31 Days with Elisabeth Elliot. I’m just now starting to get back around to reading a few blogs…so I will have to come back and read those posts.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  5. yay for yummy cookies and uninterrupted time! I prefer the thicker more lush dishtowels too and yes they can be difficult to find especially at the discount stores….UGH….it sounds like you had a very special week full of unique blessings………..

  6. I WANT THAT BIRD DISHCLOTH!! It was from Mast? There’s one in the next city. . .I might have to get over there soon!

    Also – you will find football to be more and more interesting the more you learn about it. My husband has turned into a football-holic, so it was either learn more about it or have a lot of down time, alone, on autumn Saturdays. I love it with him now!

  7. I think I would love the Mast General Store. Cute dishtowel, I have a weakness for buying new ones. They’re practical, but fun to switch out. I’m not much of a football fan either, but have found that I enjoy sitting with my husband to watch his favorite team, just as an excuse to knit or read!

    Enjoy your weekend, Barbara.

  8. Oh Barbara. I can see I’m waaaay behind reading your excellent posts with the E.Elliott and reviews… But back to the subjects at hand! The dish towel is really cute. I was just telling roomie as we walked the dish/dry towel aisle at Target that it’s really hard for me to resist cute linens. How nice that you had a fun outing with family with stimulation for all your senses.

  9. I totally miss the fluffy dishtowels and I totally would have bought that one just for the birds. It’s lovely. A few hours of alone time is a blessing when one is always with others. The cookie looks delicious.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

