31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot: How to Do the Job You Don’t Really Want To Do

How-To-Do-the-Job-You

Elisabeth Elliot2

This has helped me many times. There are some things we joy in doing, but a great many of life’s responsibilities are things we wouldn’t do if we didn’t have to and things we might come to resent. We hear a lot about assessing our personality and finding what our spiritual gifts are, but even in a dream job or ministry situation, there are always going to be aspects of it we wish we could avoid. This has helped me to face those with the right attitude – or at least working on it. 🙂

How to Do the Job You Don’t Really Want To Do

Certain aspects of the job the Lord has given me to do are very easy to postpone. I make excuses, find other things that take precedence, and, when I finally get down to business to do it, it is not always with much grace. A new perspective has helped me recently:

The job has been given to me to do.
Therefore it is a gift.
Therefore it is a privilege.
Therefore it is an offering I may make to God.
Therefore it is to be done gladly, if it is done for Him.
Therefore it is the route to sanctity.

Here, not somewhere else, I may learn God’s way. In this job, not in some other, God looks for faithfulness. The discipline of this job is, in fact, the chisel God has chosen to shape me with–into the image of Christ.

Thank you, Lord, for the work You have assigned me. I take it as your gift; I offer it back to you. With your help I will do it gladly, faithfully, and I will trust You to make me holy.

From A Lamp For My Feet

See all the posts in this series here.

11 thoughts on “31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot: How to Do the Job You Don’t Really Want To Do

  1. Pingback: 31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot | Stray Thoughts

  2. What a great quote! Just what I needed to hear this morning before going to work. Especially during Oct. sometimes I wish I could quit my job and stay home and write and read all these great blogs. This is a great reminder to me that I work as an offering to God, as obedience and it is a privilege He has given me. Thanks so much for sharing this!

  3. I’ve definitely had seasons like this in the past–when the job I was given, or the “race set before me” wasn’t one i’d have chosen–but doing it, and doing it well, was what was needed!

  4. I am very good at excuses! I also let fear of the unknown become one of the reasons I do not move forward to something God is calling me to. That is why I am doing my 31 days on bravery. Good to be here today.

  5. I am a great procrastinator! I’ve learned to tackle the less favorite jobs first and get them over with. At least sometimes. Have a great day.

  6. I love Elisabeth Elliot…and am ashamed to say I haven’t read more of her books (other than the ones from their “story”)…

    Thank you for writing about her words, thoughts, and the life she openly lived for God! I’ll be following your posts…in fact, it’s on my list of those I want to follow, just having trouble with TIME to read!!

  7. Thanks so much for Elizabeth Elliot’s quotes. They have been so encouraging to me. Moving to Ca to take care of my Mother in law and also helping my mother who is only 3 years younger. Having to deal with the Afib at the same time. Needing more rest and not getting stressed are sure a challenge. Quotes like this put my life right now in perspective.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

