31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot: Enjoying the 80%

Elisabeth Elliot2I’ve always thought this was quite poignant for marriage, and in many ways applicable in other relationships as well. How we need to build up rather than tear down.

My second husband once said that a wife, if she is very generous, may allow that her husband lives up to eighty percent of her expectations. There is always the other twenty percent that she would like to change, and she may chip away at it for the whole of their married life without reducing it very much. She may, on the other hand, simply decide to enjoy the eighty percent, and both of them will be happy ( From Love Has a Price Tag).

Let us therefore follow after the things which make for peace, and things wherewith one may edify another. Romans 14:19

Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers. Ephesians 4:29

See all the posts in this series here.

6 thoughts on “31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot: Enjoying the 80%

  1. Pingback: 31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot | Stray Thoughts

  2. Ah yes… Speaking Life… in all of our relationships! It’s so vital! I think so often, it is with our spouses and family that we tend to not do this because we let our guard down! This is a great reminder!

  3. I’m enjoying all these daily quotes. This one speaks to me today because too often we have unrealistic expectations of each other (and particularly our spouses!), and this helps us realign.

  4. I read this and just smiled. Such wise words from such a wise woman! I remember hearing a lot of Elliot when I was a little girl; my mother loved both Elisabeth and Jim. This is a great quote. I kind of want to print it out and use it as a bookmark for my devotions journal so I see it often…

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

