31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot: Irritants As God’s Messengers

Elisabeth Elliot2Today’s quote is short but quite convicting. Yet is is also reassuring as a reminder that God truly does work all things together for our good – little irritations as well as great trials. Elisabeth speaks of other people, but I like to expand this to apply to any kind of irritant or annoyance. As I have written before, I tend to get tripped up by those more often than the big things.

How can this person who so annoys or offends me be God’s messenger? Is God so unkind as to send that sort across my path? Insofar as his treatment of me requires more kindness than I can find in my own heart, demands love of a quality I do not possess, asks of me patience which only the Spirit of God can produce in me, he is God’s messenger. God sends him in order that he may send me running to God for help.

From A Lamp For My Feet

To see all the posts in this series, see the bottom of this post.

4 thoughts on “31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot: Irritants As God’s Messengers

  1. Pingback: 31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot | Stray Thoughts

  2. Great post and reminder that God uses many ways to change us to be more like Jesus. I’m gonna take a peek into these posts. Thanks for a great reminder.

  3. I think I have learned more from the “irritants” that I come across than from any other thing. Nothing that God sends our way is wasted. Great post.

  4. Pingback: Uncontrolled Reactions | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

