Friday’s Fave Five

FFF tamara'sIt’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

This has been…not a bad week but not the best. I’ve had a couple of days that I described to my husband as being busy all day but having nothing to show for it – though I guess clean clothes are something after all. πŸ™‚ But still, there are always blessings to count, and if we sometimes have to think or look for them a little harder, the exercise is all the more beneficial. Here are some highlights since last week:

1.Β Jesse’s birthday. It was actually last week but we celebrated Saturday when everyone’s time off coordinated. Always fun to get the family together and celebrate someone’s special day.

0164f00e651ecb6698ba6f0b1cc26ff739e8e7b163

2. Timothy is very interested in bags of tissue and packages now. πŸ™‚

01fcaa529c582fb1b58800a827cdfd3bfc836083c8

3. Lemon cake with lemon glaze. Normally I don’t feel it is really dessert if it is not chocolate. πŸ™‚ But Jesse has asked for lemon cake the last few birthdays, and I have come to look forward to it. Every now and then something lemon with just the right degree of tartness hits the spot. It’s just a cake mix (Duncan Hines Lemon Supreme) and the glaze is made of 2 cups powdered sugar mixed with 3-4 tablespoons lemon juice.

4. My husband’s sous vide chicken, which I know I have mentioned before, but it is always good. πŸ™‚ He made some for Sunday dinner with the equipment Jeremy had put together for him, and we had enough left over for Sunday evening snacking and then stir fry Monday night.

5. A few fall decorations. I need to send Jesse up into the attic tomorrow for the rest, but I got a couple of things set out. Funny how I wasn’t really ready for fall until I did that. πŸ™‚ They do help set an atmosphere.

Bonus: cool mornings. It’s still warm in the afternoons but the mornings are not only lusciously cool, but also a portent of more coolness to come.

Happy Friday!

12 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Hi – Happy birthday to Jess. That Lemon Cake looks so good. I think that is something I would like. We all have weeks where we “just get by” and count our blessings so hope next week goes better for you. Have a great weekend.

  2. Happy Birthday to Jesse. I’m not a terribly huge cake fan but lemon would be my choice too! Yum. And I’m thinking clean clothes do make a blessing list. πŸ˜€ Thanks for being so faithful in joining in!

  3. Cool mornings? Jealous! I see some fall decorations appearing on people’s porches and mentally designate them as optimists πŸ˜‰

    Jesse definitely looks happy with his lemon cake. Happy belated birthday! That photo of Timothy is so sweet. He could almost fit in that gift bag!

  4. Those crisp, cool mornings are one of my favorite things about this time of the year! I enjoy taking my dogs out walking on those types of mornings. Happy Birthday to Jesse- glad you were able to celebrate with family. I feel the same- it’s never quite Fall until the orange and red and leaves are scattered all about the house. πŸ™‚

  5. Haha! I agree with you on #3 not being a real dessert unless it’s chocolate!
    That’s you could get your grandson for Christmas…a roll of wrapping paper. Win-win!

  6. Wow, happy birthday to your Jesse! I totally agree about the chocolate but lemon is my next favorite! I am resisting put out all my Fall decor. It just doesn’t seem as fun without the kids.
    Have a great weekend and enjoy that weather!

  7. Happy birthday to Jesse! Our oldest daughter loves lemon desserts also. I like them, but like you, chocolate is my first choice.

    My grandies love bags and tissue paper, too. This Christmas we can just let them open all the presents! πŸ˜‰

  8. Chocolate used to be my all time fave but now lemon is a strong contender and sometimes comes in first! My mom used to make a poke cake with the lemon glaze you talked about. Yummmmm.

    I love the idea of cooking once and having leftovers for two more meals esp when someone else does that initial cooking!

    Seems like quite a few folks have mentioned fall decorating this week. Besides putting a fall centerpiece on my table/desk at work I don’t know if I will do any other decorating. I wonder if I should consider it b/c then maybe I would get into a FALL mindset.

    Have a great week, Barbara.

  9. I would say the cool mornings would be the best bonus! There will be no stopping Timothy at Christmastime–a ‘gold mine’ of tissue paper and boxes πŸ™‚
    It’s a true blessing to be able to celebrate your children’s birthdays together.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

