What’s On Your Nightstand: September 2015

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

I don’t know where this month has gone. Well, there is still a week of it left, so I guess I don’t have to lament its passing already. 🙂 But the fourth Tuesday is the day set aside for talking about what we’re reading. (Update: Or not….looks like the site has switched the Nightstand posts to next week. I don’t know if this is a permanent change to the last rather than fourth Tuesday of the month (which I would prefer) or if it just happened that way this time. But I am leaving this up since it has already been posted).

Since last time I have completed:

Everyday Grace: Infusing All Your Relationships With the Love of Jesus by Jessica Thompson, reviewed here. Very helpful.

Through Waters Deep by Sarah Sundin, reviewed here. Enjoyed it quite a lot!

Quo Vadis: A Narrative of the Time of Nero by Henryk Sienkiewicz, reviewed here. Epic.

The Problem of Pain by C. S. Lewis. Just finished it over the weekend: hope to review it in the next day or two. Honestly, this is my least favorite Lewis book so far, which is not what I had expected to say about it. Reviewed here.

I’m currently reading:

Knowing God by J. I. Packer along with Tim Challies’ Reading Classics Together Series. I’ve been sharing impressions of a couple of chapters at a time here. I can see why it is considered a classic.

The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis for Carrie‘s Reading to Know Classics Book Club for this month. Should finish this soon.

The Girls of Atomic City: The Untold Story of the Women Who Helped Win World War II by Denise Kiernan, a true story set nearby during WWII. Pretty interesting!

Things We Once Held Dear by Ann Tatlock. Haven’t made much progress with this – I think I have had too many books going at the same time.

To Whisper Her Name by Tamera Alexander, my first by this author. Just started the audiobook.

Next Up:

Child of Mine by Beverly Lewis

Unlimited by David Bunn

I Dared to Call Him Father: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman’s Encounter with God by Bilquis Sheikh

The Dead Secret by Wilkie Collins, the last of my classics challenge books.

In addition I have finished my TBR Challenge, am almost finished with my Back to the Classics Challenge, and shared some bookish questions.

What’s on your reading plate…er, nightstand these days?

6 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: September 2015

  1. I know just what you mean about reading too many books at one time. Especially if I am reading several with various characters to keep straight …! I read the Woman in White by Willkie Collins in the last year. It was long, but interesting. I would like to read more by C.S. Lewis so I appreciate your thoughts. I’ll put PoP near the bottom of the list.

  2. WHAT!?! The past few weeks I’ve been thinking that I need to get a nightstand post ready but I was thinking it was NEXT week for some reason! 😛 Oh boo!! Well. Next month I guess, because I don’t think it’ll happen today. (But I really need to get my reading life organized again!)

    I finished Screwtape Letters and I’m hoping to get my post up shortly. Glad you picked it!

  3. I left my post up today too. Oh well.

    I read Lewis’s the Problem of Pain years ago when I was going through a major loss. It was helpful at the time but I haven’t read it since so I’m not sure what I would think now.

    Bilquis Sheikh’s book sounds very interesting. I’ll look forward to what you think about it after you read it.

  4. I ended up really appreciating that the link-up was today instead of last week – Daniel is partially working from home/partially taking a sick day today, which means he’s holding Tirzah Mae so that I can have more time to read posts and write comments. Sometimes it seems like this is the only day each month that I am intentional about commenting. Grr.

    I got behind on Knowing God while I was on vacation and haven’t caught back up.

  5. Everyday Grace sounds interesting but yet these can books are ones I approach hesitantly. I’m curious about your thoughts regarding this book.

    Screwtape Letters – this will be the next CS Lewis book that I read. I’m not sure why I’ve not read it yet. His Problem with Pain book, I’m not certain I could manage it. I read your review, the book seems a bit too deep for me at this moment in life. But, I am reading his A Grief Observed book and am finding it very insightful and helpful. I’m not done because it’s not a book that demands reading quickly – it can be set down after each chapter and picked back up easily too.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

