Friday’s Fave Five

  FFF tamara'sIt’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Jim was out of town half the week and his mom’s caregiver was out sick a couple of days, so I had the full care of Great-Grandma for a while. That made for rather a long week. But even though my own plans were thwarted and I got weary, God placed some blessings along the way. Here are a few:

1. Grandparent’s Day – Jason and Mittu came over and made lunch for us on Sunday.

2. Safety, for my husband while traveling, for us while he was gone, for my oldest son when his car was rear-ended, but neither he nor his car were hurt.

3. My kids helping and checking on me. Jesse went to the store for me one day when I couldn’t get out, and Jason texted me to see how things were going and if I needed anything.

4. Jesse’s birthday was this week, though we’re not celebrating it all together until Saturday due to conflicting work schedules. But it was nice to acknowledge his day and see the well-wishing on Facebook,  and we got take-out from a nearby restaurant for the two of us to celebrate.

5. Decluttering and sorting. I don’t know why the mood to do that comes all of a sudden, but I try to go with it when it does. 🙂 I started cleaning out one bathroom drawer yesterday after getting ready for the day and then ended up doing all of them. There are some jobs like that that are big and messy and you have to wait for a free day to do it, but other times you can get a great deal done in a few minutes between other tasks and feel like you’ve accomplished something when the rest of the day doesn’t seem like it.

Bonus: My husband made breakfast on Saturday and made my pancakes in the shape of a heart and arrow.

heart pancakeAnd another bonus would be the delicious weather we’ve had all week. Love this time of year when it’s a little on the cool side but not cold yet (to me).

Happy Friday!

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Love the pancakes! Isn’t it great how Facebook turns into a mini party of sorts for birthdays? MIni decluttering projects are great. No matter what size, it’s a big accomplishment.

  2. Oh, how I love those sudden urges to purge the junk drawers! How nice that you had enough time to get your project complete before other needs pressed in. Your family care for one another in the nicest ways and it’s good to hear how God provided for your needs in the midst of a full week.

  3. I wished I also would get a “decluttering” attack ! But for the moment I am still too lazy ! How nice that your kids help and check on you. Here we didn’t have a grandparents day !

  4. I’m a tad bit jealous of your cooler weather! Here in eastern NYS we are still having temps that we had in mid July! (a little unusual for eastern NY). In fact, we have had 3 days this week where they were hotter than July and August!! It’s crazy!! Love how decluttering happens for me too….I jump in when the mood finally strikes. Happy belated birthday to your son and enjoy the upcoming celebrations. Praise God for traveling safety.

    Happy weekend!

  5. Aww, what a sweet hubby you have. Pancakes, yes any day! I am totally like you, I usually start with one thing and before long I’ve cleaned all the drawers. So glad your son wasn’t hurt. Glad you had a good grandparent’s day. Sweet kids!

  6. The pancake made me smile. Sounds like a busy, full week for you. Nice that your family checked on you and ran an errand. Hopefully you’ll have a nice restful weekend. Happy birthday to Jesse!

  7. I have to ooooh and ahhhh over the pancakes, too. I love sentimental actions like that. How sweet of your hubby to treat you this way!

    How wonderful that you got some decluttering down. When such a mood strikes me, I don’t argue either. I just ride that cleaning wave for as long as it lasts.

    Hurray for traveling safety. That is probably the biggest blessing of all.

    Have a great week.

  8. The pancakes are so cute–sweet husband 🙂
    I’m glad your weather has been cooler. After our 11 seconds of rain, we are back to 90F weather 😦
    You may envy my proximity to the ocean, but I envy your lower, much lower, house prices.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

