Friday’s Fave Five

 FFF tamara's

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends. Here are some highlights from this week:

1. A belated birthday present. One of the things I had suggested for a birthday idea was this doily. I had forgotten about it, but it arrived this week. I think it is so pretty, and it fits this space so well.

IMG_1350

IMG_1351

2. A three-day weekend is always a nice thing. It was pretty quiet as all but Jesse were away, but we still did the traditional Labor Day burger grilling. 🙂

3. A good blend of rest and getting things done both Saturday and Monday. I love when it works out that way. Some weekends are more restful, needed some times, but I feel guilty if I don’t get something done. But full-blown, non-stop busy weekends are exhausting. It’s nice when there is a balance.

4. Some organizing in the craft/sewing room. I may show you next week. It’s nice when a better idea for how to set something up pops in one’s head unexpectedly. And then having time to actually implement it is a plus!

5. Taking some first steps towards fitness and losing 2 lbs already!

A nice week overall, and a pleasant day today (Thursday) as I am writing, with some cooler temperatures and gentle rainfall off and one. Hope your week has been good as well.

I can’t let this day go back without remembrance of the events of 9/11 and those suffered most by losing a loved one or suffering harm physically, emotionally, or mentally. My prayers are with them and our nation.

15 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I agree, feeling rested yet productive is a great balance for a weekend. I applaud you for your fitness efforts! Exercising has never come easily for me either.

  2. Mmmm, I agree with the rest/something accomplished balance! Nice you could get it with the three-day-weekend. And hurray for the impromptu craft room reorganization!

    Those first 2lbs lost are motivating, aren’t they? Good for you!

  3. Congratulations on that 2 pound weight loss! WooHoo! Your doily is beautiful, Barbara and it looks perfect with that basket of beautiful roses placed on it.

  4. YAY for getting into fitness!!! I think I lost 2 or 3 lbs just hiking the last mountain I climbed…..(I have it listed as a fave..the hike, not the weight loss). I love a relaxing yet productive weekend…I had that too! Have a happy weekend.

  5. That’s great about losing the 2 pounds. Encouraging isn’t it? I just downloaded the My Fitness Pal App. I’m excited to take this to a new level and getter done!
    Sometimes we need those days of relaxing on the weekend. Since we are in the middle of refurbishing our home…slowly…we had every intention of getting some painting done last weekend. We napped instead!

  6. I like your doily and agree with you that it seems to fit there perfectly. Glad you enjoyed the labor day weekend and were able to balance busy with relaxing. I have been rather busy of late and am looking forward to a more calm routine.

  7. I look forward to when we have rain off and on throughout the day. It is so nice to be able to stay inside and get work done and have some restful times with that gentle “noise” in the back ground. And to top it off with a 3 day weekend = bliss.

    Congrats on getting back into fitness and losing 2 pounds already. What a great start.

    That doily is adorable and does look great on the little table. Thanks for the close up as it really showcases the pink. 😉 Your flowers are also gorgeous.

  8. Congrats on taking the fitness steps and the weight loss. It’s hard work but you will feel so much better! I know I do. You are right about weekends needing to be balanced. I really dislike when we are so booked with running errands and other things that there is no time to just be. Makes the coming work week so much harder. But on the other hand it’s nice to get something accomplished too. Balance in everything. 🙂

  9. Congrats on the weight loss. Good for you. Keep moving forward. I am working on losing a few pounds myself. Amen to weekends that are a good mix of rest and work. I love the doily. What a great place for it! Have a happy Sunday and a good week!

  10. Good for you for taking those first steps toward fitness. It is hard to keep it up, I know. I’ll be cheering you on. And cheering myself on.
    I agree with everyone– a mix of rest and work on the weekends helps in so many ways. Have a great week.

  11. Sorry, I’m just now getting by to visit – I see that I am in sore lack of a “balanced” weekend. I would really like to be, though!

    Yay on the good start on fitness. I got discouraged some months back and quit but I know I need to start again.

    I agree with you – the events of 9/11 have been on my mind all weekend. I pray healing to all who need it.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

