What’s On Your Nightstand: August 2015

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

It has been a very busy month, with a medical procedure at the beginning and two birthdays and family visiting in the middle. But I was glad to be able to get a bit of reading done through the month as well.

Since last time I have completed:

Running Scared: Fear, Worry, and the God of Rest by Edward T. Welch, reviewed here. Excellent, a great resource.

Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw, reviewed here. The play on which the musical My Fair Lady is based. I listened via audiobook but looked up parts in the free Kindle version. Fun!

The River by Beverly Lewis, reviewed here. Very good. Probably one of my favorites of hers.

Emma, Mr. Knightly, and Chili Slaw Dogs by Mary Hathaway for the Austen in August Challenge, reviewed here. Jane Austen’s Emma set in the modern American South. Quite fun.

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley, audiobook, reviewed here. A few objections, but otherwise very clever writing.

A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy Seals, and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips, reviewed here. A true account of the pirate hijacking of a US merchant marine vessel in 2009. Bad language, but riveting story.

I’m currently reading:

Knowing God by J. I. Packer along with Tim Challies’ Reading Classics Together Series . Lisa and Rebekah are reading along, too.

Everyday Grace: Infusing All Your Relationships With the Love of Jesus by Jessica Thompson. Very helpful. Should finish it this week and will hopefully review it soon.

Things We Once Held Dear by Ann Tatlock

Quo Vadis: A Narrative of the Time of Nero by Henryk Sienkiewicz. I am listening to the audiobook but going back to read certain parts from the free Kindle version.

Next Up:

Child of Mine by Beverly Lewis

Unlimited by David Bunn

Through Waters Deep by Sarah Sundin

I Dared to Call Him Father: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman’s Encounter with God by Bilquis Sheikh

The Problem of Pain by C. S. Lewis

The Girls of Atomic City: The Untold Story of the Women Who Helped Win World War II by Denise Kiernan after reading Susan’s review. I live not far from the town in the book and knew of its history in making bombs for WWII, so this will be really interesting.

The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis for Carrie‘s Reading to Know Classics Book Club. I am leading the discussion on this one and will say more about it around the end of this month/ beginning of next month. Project Gutenberg Canada has a free online version here.

As always, I have a plethora of other books to choose from if I should finish these.

What are you reading these days? Let me know in the comments or link up with 5 Minutes For Books to share.

6 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: August 2015

  1. I’m anxious to read your thoughts on “Atomic City” — so neat that you live nearby. The book by the Muslim woman fascinates me. I’ve had “Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus” recommended to me and have it on my waiting list. I may have to try “The River.” I loved Lewis years back, but recently read one of hers and was disappointed in it.

  2. Quo Vadis sounds really interesting. I just finished up listening to Will Durant’s Caesar and Christ – a comprehensive history of Rome – and it’s whet my appetite to learn more about Roman history.

  3. I still want to read Running Scared soon. I’m reminded every time I see it pop up on your blog somewhere. Everyday Grace sounds very good too. Perhaps I should re-read The Screwtape Letters…love that book. C.S. Lewis always makes me think.

  4. I want to read Running Scared…I forgot it was on my list.
    The Screwtape Letters is going to be a read along with my husband, hopefully before end of the year.
    I too am reading Knowing God although I am having a tough time keeping up with two chapters per week…I need to jump it higher on my reading priority list. How are you liking the book so far?

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

