Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends. This is a week overflowing with them, but here are five:

1. Jeremy (oldest son) coming to visit and the whole family being together. My husband took the week off and Jesse (youngest son) and Jason (middle son) were able to take a day off as well. And Jason brought Mittu (daughter-in-law) and Timothy (very special grandson πŸ™‚ ) to spend a day at our house while he worked.

2. Jeremy’s birthday. Nice to have a special day to let people know you’re glad they were born to our family – and an excuse to have lasagna and Boston Creme Pie as well. πŸ™‚

3. Fun despite being rained out of a couple of activities. We went to the Farmer’s Market Saturday and got thoroughly soaked but had a fun time. Then we were supposed to go to an outdoor jazz concert downtown one evening, and it got rained out as well, but we enjoyed dinner at a favorite local pizza place.

4. A fairly relaxed week. I was fretting about getting something done one afternoon and thought, “You know what? Everyone else is taking some time off this week, so I will, too.” Besides dealing with essentials like meals, dishes, and laundry, I decided not to worry about getting anything else done this week and just enjoyed relaxing and fellowship. And I even got “off” for a few meals when we ate out and dishes when Mittu did them a number of times.

5. Games. I love playing games with the family, and we pretty much only do that when everyone is here. Looking forward to more of that this weekend! Mittu and I ended up battling it out for first place in a Settlers of Catan, beating out the boys one night! She won. πŸ™‚

Bonus: My birthday is today! Looking forward to celebrating with the family – everyone is off today! This is the first time since Jeremy moved that he has been able to be here for my birthday!

Happy Friday!

19 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Wow, lots of happy news this week! I’m sure your family will make your day special, whatever y’all decide to do. I love it that you don’t let a little rain deter your family fun πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh- happy birthday!

    The older I get and the more spread out my family is, the more I recognize the specialness of having everyone all together. It’s been almost two years since my whole family was together – and there’ve been three more babies born in that time (none of the newest three have even met each other yet!)

  3. Well happy birthday to you. And what a nice gift having Jeremy there to celebrate! It’s nice to take some time off and just enjoy the people around you. Glad you had that opportunity!

  4. Happy belated birthday! I’m so glad you got a bit of a break this week, too! I bet it’s wonderful having all your kids under one roof (having just sent my oldest to college, I’m starting to understand this more). So happy too that you have a daughter-in-law to help with dishes. Yay!

  5. Happy Birthday, Barbara! Isn’t it nice when you can accomplish #4 without feeling guilty…and #2 as well. Lasagna and Boston Creme Pie, Yum!

  6. Happy belated birthday blessings. How special that Jeremy was able to be there to celebrate you! I hope you get your fill of playing games. I don’t often get to play, but we are having a speed game night at church for the ladies in September.
    So glad you were able to take some time off this week. Sometimes our brains, soul and body NEED that kind of break.

    The night we went to the baseball game it was dollar hot dogs and dollar desserts. So at least that part didn’t cost a young fortune.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

