TBR Challenge Wrap-Up Post

2015tbrbuttonThe TBR Pile Challenge is for reading books we have on hand or have on a TBR list but haven’t gotten to yet. A wrap-up post is required at the end, and I am happy to say I have completed the challenge! So I wanted to go ahead and write a wrap-up post now rather than wait til the end of the year. I’ve linked each title to my review of it. The publishing dates are just to make it easier for RoofBeamReader, who requires that the books for this challenge are ones published before 2014. I’ve also included the date I finished reading each one.

Here are my selections for this year:

1. A Million Little Ways: Uncover the Art You Were Made to Live by Emily Freeman, 2013. I got this because I really liked her Grace For the Good Girl. I got it right at the beginning of last year but it got pushed aside for some of the other challenges. Mixed emotions about parts of it but overall a good message. (Finished 3/30/15)

2. He Is There and He Is Not Silent by Francis Schaeffer, 1972. I can’t tell you how many years I have had this on my shelf, but I wouldn’t if I could because it would be too embarrassing. It wasn’t what I had thought it would be, but it was still highly valuable. (Finished 4/22/15)

3. Gentle Savage Still Seeking the End of the Spear: The Autobiography of a Killer and the Oral History of the Waorani, 2013, by Menkaye Aenkaedi with Kemo and Dyowe, 2013. Those who have been reading here a long time know that the whole story of the five missionaries who were killed trying to reach the Waorani, known then as Aucas, and the subsequent way God opened the hearts of this tribe to receive Jesus as Savior and Lord means a great deal to me and has impacted my life exponentially. This book was told by Menkaye, one of the killer of the missionaries who later became a father and grandfather figure to Steve Saint and his family, descendants of one of the five men. (Finished 5/24/15)

4. Strait of Hormuz by Davis Bunn, 2013. I like Bunn and his Marc Royce series, but this is another that kept getting pushed aside while I worked on other reading challenges. This series keeps one on the edge of one’s seat! (Finished 6/9/15)

5. Better to Be Broken by Rick Huntress, 2012, about an accident that left him in a wheelchair and the influence it has had on his life. (Finished 3/2/15)

6. The Fairest Beauty by Melanie Dickerson, 2013, a retelling of Snow White. (Finished 6/17/15)

7. My Emily by Matt Patterson, 2011, a family’s story of a young daughter born with Down’s Syndrome who is then diagnosed with leukemia. (Finished 3/4/15)

8. The Swan House by Elizabeth Musser, 2001. I really enjoyed her Words Unspoken (it was one of my top ten from 2010), so I wanted to read more from her. Loved it and want to read more. (Finished 4/18/15)

9. Out of a Far Country: A Gay Son’s Journey to God. A Broken Mother’s Search for Hope by Christopher & Angela Yuan, 2011, recommended by Tim Challies. I am sure this will be one of my top ten of the year. (Finished 3/8/15)

10. Growing Up Amish: A Memoir by Ira Wagler, 2011. Saw this highly recommended by a number of people. (Finished 5/31/15)

11. Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl by Lisa TerKeurst, 2009. Have had this on hand, meaning to get to it, for years. Enjoyed it very much. (Finished 2/1/15)

12. The Narnian by Alan Jacobs, 2009, for Carrie’s Chronicles of Narnia Reading Challenge in July as well as this challenge. Liked the information, did not like Jacobs’ style. (Finished 7/24/15)

We’re allowed two alternates in case there is a book we just can’t get into. I had chosen The Captive Maiden by Melanie Dickerson, 2013 (a retelling of Cinderella) and read it even though I did complete my original list and didn’t need an alternate (Finished 6/28/15). I had also chosen “something by Ann Tatlock, if I can be that unspecific.” I have six of her books in my Kindle app and ended up choosing Things We Once Held Dear. I’ve started it but have picked it up so intermittently that I am not really into yet, but I do want to complete it even though I don’t need to for the challenge. (Update: Finished this 10/5/15)

One of the reasons I value this challenge is that it does help me purpose to read books that I have been meaning to get to and helps me be more intentional in my reading yet it also allows room for picking up books on a whim through the year as well. I’ve found I do best if I do have some reading plans for the year but do have some breathing room for other interests or new books as well.

Thanks to RoofBeamReader for hosting this challenge once again!

4 thoughts on “TBR Challenge Wrap-Up Post

  1. Congratulations, Barbara! Well-done. I’m not sure when I’m going to finish my 12. I finished 10 awhile back, but I’ve been stuck on Anna Karenina for months now, then one more to go after that (Gathering Blue, after I reread The Giver). I love this challenge too though because it helps me clean off my bookshelves plus discover what’s been sitting in my room for too long unopened.

  2. I have a couple of those on my list…I belong to a book club and although they do choose some that I can’t get into, the club does inspire me to read books I wouldn’t nomally choose. I also manage to read books not on the list. We each bring 3 suggestions to our January planning meeting. I read some of those that don’t make the final list.

  3. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: September 2015 | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

