Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

This has been a full week. On Monday I was supposed to have a procedure to correct a misfiring nerve in my heart that caused rapid and irregular heartbeats. After hours of their attempts to stimulate my heart into the abnormal rhythm in the OR, most of which I had to be awake for, they found that the trouble was in a different area than they thought and required a longer and riskier procedure, so they were not able to do anything that day. I am supposed to see the doctor in a few weeks to discuss treatment options, which will probably include a new medication. It was tremendously disappointing, after finally deciding to have this surgery after 15+ years of putting it off, going through all the mental preparation for it, and looking forward to finally being done with, to find I not only wasn’t done with it but had something else to deal with. But still, there were good things about the week:

1. Peace that passes understanding. I had written before the surgery of several concerns I had, and usually any kind of medical appointment has my nerves stretched pretty taut. But none of the things I was concerned about were a problem, and God gave me a calmness that floored me and could only have come from Him.

2. Kind people. I mentioned in my post after the surgery that there were several kind people along the way, some of whom I only interacted with for a few moments, who were a great blessing. I loved Susan’s comment about letting that inspire her to see and be kind to people. A good reminder to me as well.
3. My wonderful family. My son and daughter-in-law brought dinner over Sunday and then spent Monday afternoon at our house making dinner for both Monday and Tuesday and cookies. Plus they brought me pink roses in this gorgeous vase:
IMG_1300
Timothy colored my first ever picture from him. 🙂

IMG_1293

Jesse accompanied me to the store and has been doing things around the house requiring any heavy lifting, since I am not supposed to do that for a few days. And my dear husband patiently put up with my fears beforehand and my tears afterward, put Benadryl on my back where I had an allergic reaction to some adhesive, and has been doing a great job taking care of me in various ways. It was good to FaceTime with my oldest son, too, after getting home that night.

4. Timing. I didn’t set the date for this procedure–the doctor’s office did — but it was perfect timing. We had Jason’s birthday and move in the last couple of weeks and my oldest son’s coming for a visit and his birthday in the next couple of weeks, but this week there is nothing going on, so it has been a good time to take things a little easier.

5. My first ever chicken and dumplings. I don’t think I had ever made them before. A lady in one of our former churches used to make a great version and often brought them to potlucks and for meals when someone was sick. I think I was afraid mine would never live up to hers and I was afraid of the dumplings ending up totally mushy. But somehow this dish was just what I was in the mood for one night, and this recipe looked simple enough. I used frozen chicken tenderloins (love that I can cook them straight from the freezer), so that eliminated the tedious task of picking meat off bones. I thought it turned out pretty well, and husband and son seemed to like it ok. It hit that craving spot for me and was fairly easy as well.

IMG_1297My 9th blogging anniversary was at the end of July, but with everything going on, I didn’t really observe it except as a passing thought. Usually I do a giveaway or something on that day, but we’ll save it for next year’s 10th anniversary! Thank YOU for being a part of my blogging experience! Your kind comments have meant a great deal to me.

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Your pink roses are beautiful as well as the vase. I’m so sorry you had to go through all that but how wonderful a family you have! The chicken and dumplings looks wonderful. One of my favorite meals. I’m going to try this!

  2. I’m so sorry your procedure didn’t turn out the way you wanted, but maybe they would have never found the real problem without you going through it.

    Chicken and dumplings is always comforting!

  3. Wow – my 9th blogaversary was in July as well. But with daughter being here and feeling off because of a medicine reaction, I didn’t do anything either. Last week I put a note in my June and July 2016 calendar to remember that July 11 is my 10th birthday! I want to do something then too. Not sure what yet.

    God is certainly great at timing things. How awesome that you got to have the rest you needed in between busy times. Hurray!

    Chicken and dumplings are so tasty and I haven’t made that in YEARS. How great that you tried a recipe that did indeed hit the craving spot.

  4. Oh, wow. That was a difficult let down. Round two coming up…
    I too love Susan’s comment–it doesn’t hurt us to be kind to others and it might mean a great deal to them.

  5. What a surprising detour! You’re in our prayers for the next procedure, Barbara. Your family support is wonderful. And I’m glad you managed to make something as delicious as chicken and dumplings — I thought at first that it might’ve been matzo ball soup (which I LOVE, too). Now you’ve got me craving it… and dreaming up a GF version.

  6. Chicken and dumplings….my Mamaw used to make those and they were delicious. Your roses are gorgeous. Hope you’re feeling better by now. Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by and comment. Alas….trying to publish from my phone, my big finger accidentally touched “delete”. I’m so sorry. I’ve signed up to follow you via email. We do think the same about blogging!!!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

