Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends. Here are some favorite parts of the last week:

1. Squirrel-proof bird feeders. Since we’ve had bird feeders, we’ve had a squirrel or two come by and nibble a bit, and I had no problem with that. But this year we’ve had at least three who can empty the feeders out in a day. That gets a bit expensive. I found one squirrel-proof feeder in Wal-Mart, another on Amazon. They’re not entirely squirrel-proof, but they do slow them down a lot, and they don’t come around as often, leaving more for the birds.

IMG_1259

2. Grilled ham. Hadn’t had it in ages, and it was so good. I didn’t take any pictures: just imagine pink ham with grill stripes. 🙂

Marinated Ham Steak

1/2 cup apple juice
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon margarine, melted
1 to 2 teaspoons mustard
1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon paprika
1 ham steak

Combine first six ingredients and pour into a resealable plastic bag. Cut ham steaks in half or in smaller pieces and add to bag; seal bag and turn to coat. Refrigerate at least two hours, turning occasionally.

Drain marinade and grill ham, uncovered, over medium heat. If the ham is fully cooked beforehand, grill only 3-4 minutes on each side; if the ham is raw, plan on 10-15 minutes or until meat thermometer reaches 140-160 degrees.

The original recipe called for pineapple juice, which we didn’t have on hand the first time I made it, so I used apple juice and liked it well enough that I’ve stuck with it ever since. It made for a nice Sunday-after-church meal because we put it in the marinade in the fridge before church, and then it didn’t take long at all to grill afterward.

3. VBS week. Our Vacation Bible School coordinator has been sending emails out every evening with a short summary of how the night went plus some photos. Everyone’s done a great job with decorating and planning and such and it seems the kids are really enjoying and benefiting from it.

4. An uneventful dental visit. Seeing the dentist is never my favorite thing to do, but my visit Thursday went relatively smoothly. Since my last dental cleaning resulted in having to have a tooth pulled and a bridge put in, I was very glad there were no surprises this time.

5. This, seen at Reading to Know:

christianshoemakerHappy Friday!

16 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I’ve never really done bird feeders, probably because I’ve not been home during daylight hours much to watch birds (or not always had windows facing green areas) – but it’s on my list for our new home. It sounds like the squirrel-resistant variety are worth it.

  2. You tempt me with the description of that grilled ham 😉 I’ve only a coal grill and spending an hour to prep it usually means few things get grilled. But perhaps in the future…

    Though you haven’t thwarted the squirrels completely, it’s nice to see you found something that leaves some seeds for the birds! And definitely a hurray for an uneventful dental visit.

  3. Oh yum! THat ham steak sounds great. Question… is it a cured ham steak or just plain ham? Does it even matter? 🙂
    I’m always glad when my dentist appointments are uneventful. Oh how I dislike even going.
    Hope you have a lovely weekend Barbara!

  4. we finally bought a bird feeder from LLbean about 10 yrs ago that is free standing ( the pole goes down into the ground) and both sides have weighted ” door” that comes down and blocks seed from spilling out. if a squirrel lands on the bar where birds sit. the door will shut due to the weight of the squirrel. it is awesome!! i highly recommend it if they still sell it. YAY for a great dentsl report! grilled ham sounds interesting! my teen girl has been volunteering each day this week in an inner city church and their vbs program. our church’s youth group actually put on vbs there for the children. she was gone every day from 7-4 pm and loved the experience!! have a happy weekend!

    • That’s the way these feeders work, too, except one squirrel figured out how to hang upside down so he can get some seeds out without closing the door. The rascal! But it must not be very comfortable because he doesn’t do it for long.

  5. My bird feeder is a squirrel magnet. I need to invest in one that lets the birds have more seed than the squirrel. I’m glad that your VBS went so well. Always fun for the kids. Ham steak! Yum!

  6. The Luther quote is a good reminder about why it is important to do my best at work. Thanks for the reminder. I am going to post that on my fb page.
    What a great idea for the VBS coordinator to send the workers a recap of the day. I bet that is an encouragement for everyone to read.
    have a great week, Barb

  7. Hello – Happy Sunday. I love the Martin Luther quote. So timely! Reminds me of the quote “spread the gospel every day and when necessary use words.” Glad to hear that your VBS is going well. The ham steaks sound good. Have a great week.

  8. I would love to have a bird feeder. Now that our cat is too old to be much of a threat to them I might just look into it. I don’t think we have much of a squirrel problem here. Glad your dental visit was good this time. And now I am craving ham. Haven’t had it since Christmas.

  9. Well written post, Barbara – as with all your posts. As a child, I loved going to VBS, and can attest to the fruit from that ministry. But I do see your point, and how VBS for many parents has been a free week of baby-sitting. One of my past churches did VBS would involve the parents each day with a short message when the kids were picked up, and that seemed to reach many of the parents.

    So glad the snack lady got to share her testimony — I find that the food people are often the hardest workers, and yet they so seldom get the appreciation… not that they are there for man’s accolade, but still, a little recognition encourages them in doing what they do. My best friend serves in the food ministry, and I always appreciates her for her service… because I don’t know if I can stand there for hours preparing food week after week.

  10. Thanks for the link. 🙂

    The picture of the squirrel trying to rob the bird feeder is rather cute and hilarious. (And pathetic.)

    Off to read your post about VBS which I see you’ve also linked up. Sounds like it went really well!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

