What’s On Your Nightstand: June 2015

 What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

This being the fourth Tuesday of June, it’s time for another Nightstand post:

Since last time I have completed:

Christy by Catherine Marshall for Carrie‘s Reading to Know Classics Book Club for May, reviewed here. Nice reread.

Growing Up Amish: A Memoir by Ira Wagler, nonfiction, reviewed here. Very enlightening.

Strait of Hormuz by Davis Bunn, reviewed here. Very exciting!

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry for Carrie‘s Reading to Know Classics Book Club for June. Just finished Monday, hope to have a review up in a day or two. Somewhat strange – I am still processing it.

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, Book 5: The Unmapped Sea by Maryrose Wood, audiobook, reviewed here. Funny and clever as usual for this series, but a bit sad as well (which is, hopefully, a set-up for everything to come right again in the next book).

The Fairest Beauty by Melanie Dickerson, reviewed here. Nice retelling of Snow White.

I’m currently reading:

Walking With God in the Season of Motherhood by Melissa B. Kruger

Little Dorrit by Charles Dickens

Pioneer Girl: The Annotated Autobiography by Laura Ingalls Wilder, edited by Pamela Smith Hill.

The Captive Maiden by Melanie Dickerson, a retelling of Cinderella

Next Up:

The Narnian by Alan Jacobs for both the Reading to Know Classics Book Club for July and the Chronicles of Narnia Reading Challenge, both hosted by Carrie. Maybe Live Like a Narnian by Joe Rigney for these as well. Either one will finish up my TBR Challenge list.

After Little Dorrit, I have five more classics to chose from for my Back to the Classics Challenge. Thinking about One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn next.

Then I have some new books acquired since Christmas that I’d like to get to:

A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy Seals, and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips

The River and Child of Mine by Beverly Lewis

Unlimited by David Bunn

Running Scared: Fear, Worry, and the God of Rest by Edward T. Welch

I think that will keep me busy for a while. 🙂 Sherry ay Semicolon wrote last weekend of a 48-hour reading challenge she was participating in. That made me think how nice it would be to have a reading vacation, whether at home, on the beach, or in a cabin somewhere. I don’t think anyone else in my family would go for it, though.

Happy reading!

13 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: June 2015

  1. Very interesting assortment of books! I always enjoy reading your reviews too. I don’t know if I’ll participate in WOYN this month, A bit embarrassing – only one book. Have a great day.

  2. I saw that Sherry was participating in the 48 hour reading challenge this weekend and thought a reading vacation sounds like a nice thing. I might have to stick it on my calendar and see if I can do it next year. But somehow the family must be fed, the laundry kept up with, the dishes done – and I just don’t think I can swing taking time off JUST to read. Maybe next year though (they’ll be able to fend for themselves by then, right? :-P)

  3. Oooh … a reading vacation sounds awesome to me! I just downloaded Melanie Dickerson’s collection of fairy stories since my 14-year-old loved Fairest Beauty so much. I hope I’ll enjoy them. I remember thinking LPrince was “deep” as a child. I should read it again now …

  4. I didn’t take part in the “Back to the Classics Challenge” this year. Just kind of sticking to a few authors. Looks like a great month for you. My audio book is taking me forever! 🙂 Happy reading Barbara! I love the Narnia challenge!

  5. You piqued my interest in Growing Up Amish with your review. I’m wondering if I have it somewhere on my Kindle already (I can’t keep up anymore, ha).

    I’m not sure how I feel about The Little Prince either. I’ll look forward to hearing what others share. It was interesting enough but a tad odd too.

    I read One Day in the Life of Ivan D a few years back and was so glad I did. Parts of it can still haunt me. Same with A Captain’s Duty. Kept me on the edge of my seat.

  6. Walking With God in the Season of Motherhood sounds good.

    I think a reading vacation sound lovely, though I don’t know if I could just sit and read the whole time. It would have to be a very interesting book.

  7. A Captain’s Duty sounds interesting to me. I gonna put it on my to-read list. I almost forgot about July being Narnia month. I think it’s high time for a Narnia read aloud with my 9 year old…maybe my 15 year old would like to participate for memory sake ( she and I read through Narnia during the first two years Carrie started this challenge)

  8. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand, June 2015 | Dancing Books

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

