Just chatting

I’m home from church this morning not feeling very well, and even though I was awake for a couple of hours in the night, I am not really sleepy just now, so I thought I’d visit for a while. I am hoping for a nap while everyone is out.

We met with a hospice coordinator last Friday to discuss what their services involved for Great-Grandma. I had thought you didn’t call hospice in until death was imminent, but apparently that’s not the case. Technically one is supposed to have a terminal diagnosis of six months or less in order to use hospice, but certain diagnoses automatically qualify (like dementia), and they understand no one can predict when death might come in those cases. One of the biggest pluses with them is that she will be under a nurse’s care, and even a doctor can come to the house in an emergency. She had a low spell a couple of weeks ago where she was throwing up or gagging at meals, her heart rate was elevated, and she wasn’t smiling or interacting much at all. By the time her doctor could see her in his office, she was pretty much back to normal. Plus her doctor’s office is terrible about returning phone calls or handling prescriptions outside office visits. When we first moved to Knoxville and Jim was looking for a doctor for her, he had to call 31 doctors before he found one who would take a Medicare patient. 😦 So, all of that to say, it will be very nice to have someone we can call who can even come to the house if need be.They also send out a social worker who will help answer questions and help us prepare for all of that aspect of what we need to do to be ready for when her time comes. We were actually pretty amazed at all they do and wished we had known all this when we first brought her home almost two years ago. In fact, we really wondered why the social worker at the nursing home didn’t mention it as a possibility when she was making arrangements for her to come home.

I’ve been going back through some of my older posts, partly to see if there is anything I might be able to edit and use in our church ladies’ newsletter, partly because every now and then I think about gathering some posts into a book, and I wanted to take a look at what I had. I am amazed at how verbose some of those earliest posts are, and even more amazed that people read and commented on them! I don’t know that people would today. One of my purposes for blogging was to improve my writing by writing, and though I am still too wordy, I think I have improved in that regard.

I’m also sad about the folks I considered good blogging friends who are no longer blogging or commenting. I know it’s necessary some times, but I miss them.

Finally, I haven’t shared a picture of my favorite little guy in a while, and I just love this one of him:

Tim Toys

Hope you are having a great Sunday!

11 thoughts on “Just chatting

  1. Your grandson is really cute. So glad you found out that can get extra help through hospice. I did not know about all the services hospice offers – so you educated me. So sad in our country that you cannot find a doctor who takes Medicare and wants to treat older patients – but then I’d better not get started on what I think about the state of our healthcare in this country – I might fall off my soapbox! Have a great Sunday.

  2. I know what you mean about missing seeing people’s posts and comments. However, as we all do, I also know the feeling of having too much to do at times to blog. Summers are a lot better. 🙂

    My dear friend used Hospice when her mother was failing and had nothing but praise for their services.

    Darling baby boy!!

  3. I’m still here! And blogging. 🙂 Anyhow, I am very interested with Grandma’s care, as we know we’ll probably soon be making some of those decisions–and not too long from now will need care ourselves! Thank you for sharing about your life and about how God is leading your family. Loved the picture of Timothy! It’s hard to believe how very far he’s come. Praise the Lord!

  4. Love that dimpled little grand boy! Yes, hospice is wonderful. We had it for my mother. She had Parkinson’s and some dementia and when the doctor said she thought it was time for hospice, we weren’t really sure, but went ahead with it. We were so thankful that we did. It was a huge help. And when my mother did pass away, the hospice nurse came and bathed her before the funeral director arrived. One last service that she could do. Incredibly thoughtful. It made us feel my mother was being taken care of even after death (although of course we knew it was only an empty shell, there was something comforting about it all the same).

  5. I hope you feel better. I missed church yesterday too due to not feeling well. I’m glad that hospice is in with your great grandma. I had hospice when my husband died and they were angels. They were the reason I decided to switch to hospice for my remaining working years as a nurse. Have a blessed week.

  6. Barbara, I am so glad to know that you were able to get hospice care for your mother-in-law. I’m certain that it relieves your mind and heart greatly. Can you imagine…31 doctors before finding someone who took Medicare. Wow.

    Loved the picture of little Timothy. He certainly does look happy!

  7. Hope you are feeling better today, Barbara! Thanks for the information about hospice. I didn’t realize all that was available, even though my dad was in hospice at the end. Good to know for the future!

  8. That is a great blessing that you have found additional services to help with the care of your MIL. My husband’s mother is in a nursing home because of mental illness and has been under hospice care there for nearly a year and a half now.We have appreciated the additional attention and care this has afforded her. Your little grandson is adorable! Love the dimples. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Friday’s Fave Five | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

