Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been a pretty nice week. Cool mornings, a little hot in the afternoons, but not like it will be later in the summer. Here are some of the best parts of the week:

1. Visiting the zoo with Timothy, and his parents and also my youngest son and his girlfriend. Timothy wasn’t terribly interested in the animals yet – most of them were too far away for him to really notice them. But the few he did see, he just kind of took it all in, observing and trying to process. Jason has a cute video of his watching a monkey’s antics. I think he’ll get more out of it when he’s a little older, but it was still a fun outing.

01a9664c121e962d9590244ffca3445d8b21a2b76b

2. Not cooking for three days. For various reasons, we had different things going on at dinner time three days in a row. It was almost like a mini-vacation!

3. A couple of hours with a book. I mentioned in finding time to read that most of my reading is done in 10-20 minutes snatches rather than at long intervals. But Sunday I got in about two hours with my latest Dee Henderson novel. Bliss!

4. Sleep. I could probably name that every week. 🙂 I wasn’t feeling well Sat. night and didn’t get a lot of sleep. Sunday morning was one of those times I felt like I just couldn’t function, so I stayed home from church and slept about 2 1/2 hours and then napped a couple of times during the day. I finally started feeling back to normal later in the afternoon.

5. Roses budding! I didn’t think they would for a few weeks yet.

IMG_1192

Hope you have a great weekend remembering and honoring your mom!

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. oh what a great week youve had minus the not feeling well. hope you are mich better now! i LOVE reading!! sunday is Mothers day and i told my teen and my husband that all i want is to go out to a nice late lunch/ early dinner then sit on the deck and READ!! maybe i can get two hours in like you did! enjoy your Mothers day!

  2. Oh I remember the zoo for the first time with our oldest. She was crazy about the weirdest things! 🙂
    Sounds like you were in need of some rest! So glad you got some and the rest sounds awesome too! Reading, not cooking, and roses! Lovely!
    Hope you have a wonderful Mother’s day! (maybe another nap is in order)

  3. Hmmm, good sleep almost made my fives this week, too 😉 I love it that your family enjoys being together and doing things together. Congrats on getting some solid reading time in. Isn’t it delicious?

    How nice that your roses are starting to bloom — just in time for Mother’s Day.

  4. Oh I love when the roses start blooming!

    I notice Timothy has a good head of hair! How cute!

    3 days of no cooking and time to read sure sounds heavenly.

  5. I agree with you – a couple of hours of uninterrupted reading is bliss. The zoo is always fun too. Happy Mother’s Day to you. Enjoy your weekend.

  6. Look at all your roses already! That is amazing! Uninterrupted reading…what a wonderful time. Looking forward to that Dee Henderson book review. Happy Mother’s Day to you!

  7. I think its super fun to go to the zoo with grandparents and grandkids together. That’s a fun memory (perhaps in pictures) at any age.

    Life picked up somehow and I haven’t had very much reading time either. I did have an hour today though which I enjoyed very much.

  8. Pingback: Friday’s Fave Five | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

