Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been a pretty nice week. Here are a few favorites from it:

1. A new sewing machine!

2. A “puttering” Saturday. Some Saturdays are catch-up days with laundry, errands, or housework, some are event Saturdays with an outing or get-together planned. But puttering Saturdays are when there’s nothing urgent going on, I got all my usual errands and such done earlier in the week, I don’t have to go anywhere, and I can putter around the house taking care of tasks I don’t usually get to or working on a project. Very enjoyable!

3. The teens’ bake sale. The teens at our church held a bake sale to raise money for a mission/camping trip this summer. Always nice to get some goodies I didn’t have to cook! I enjoyed getting a number of small things to sample.

4. Pinterest wins. I have to confess that I pin a lot of things that I don’t go back and look at again, but some of my boards I do peruse sporadically for inspiration. I’ve felt in a rut with cooking lately, so I’ve been looking over and trying some of my Pinterest recipes. Chicken Spaghetti was good, though I don’t like to use Velveeta too much. I might try it with a different cheese some time. Crock Pot Smothered Pork Chops were really good, though it would probably be easier with boneless pork chops. Everything was falling off the bone, and due to bony pieces plus the “goo” from the meat, I ended up removing the meat and running the liquid through a strainer before making the gravy. My favorite was Easy Loaded Potato Bites. We enjoyed them as a side dish with meat loaf, but they’d be good as appetizers or party food.

5. Storms missing us. Last weekend there was a lot of bad weather forecast, and some parts of the city got hail and thunderstorms, but we only got a little rain.

Happy Friday!

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Lovely quiet faves, Barbara. Puttering Saturdays are some of my favorites, too. Pinterest was discussed at our last family gathering — more of a cautionary tale about disappearing hours for us susceptible ones! Glad you found some recipes to try.

  2. I love puttering Saturdays. If I’m lucky I get about one a month!

    I love to try out Pinterest recipes, too. I’d say the success rate for me is about 60/40. But I still keep trying!

  3. I love those puttering days! They are few and far between right now but I hold out hope that they will come again! 🙂
    I saw you new machine but did not really get to read the post…going to do that! Very nice looking! 😉
    I am happy for you that the storms missed you! Those can be scary this time of year. Hope you have a beautiful weekend!

  4. All of your recipes sound really good, Barbara…and I am glad that you had a puttering Saturday last week! Love bake sales where you can buy small amounts to sample. 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  5. So nice when we take a deliberate moment to stop and be thankful. This is certainly a reminder to not take things for granted. Sounds like you had a great week.

    I have been getting most of my chores done during the week also as a way to maximize my downtime on the weekends… Afternoon naps are my favorite weekend activity 🙂

  6. I haven’t had a puttering Saturday for weeks now. I think I need one. Can I order it online? 🙂
    New sewing machine! WOW! It’s beautiful and makes magical seams.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

