A new gadget!

One evening while my husband perused some of the “deal of the day” sites he follows while I was making dinner, he asked me if I wanted a new sewing machine.

No, I replied. My little faithful, uncomplicated Kenmore had served me well for 30+ years now, and I figured I’d just keep using it until it gave out. Besides, those newfangled computerized ones would probably require a significant learning curve to become comfortable with, whereas I knew my Kenmore so well I could operate it almost without thinking.

But he began to read some of the features of the one on sale, and the more he read, the more attractive it sounded. And, I began to reason, when my machine does give out, there might not be a deal like this readily available. So I said, “Sure, if you want to get it for me.” 🙂 So he did.

It arrived last Saturday, and thankfully he was here to help me get it out of the box and figure out some of the diagrams to get started with it.

IMG_1181

This photograph with the light on isn’t as good, but you can see the screen display:

IMG_1180

Some of the basics like threading it and the bobbin were a little hard to figure out: some of the specialty stitches were easy, and I had fun playing with those a bit.

IMG_1182

It will take a while to feel “at home” with it, but that should come with use. It’s supposed to have an automatic needle threader which I haven’t figure out yet but which should come in really handy: I keep a little magnifying glass in the desk drawer for help with threading now. One feature I really like is that there is a little push button on the side that opens a little drawer for all the extra presser feet, bobbins, etc., thus freeing up crowded drawer space.

And, as an added bonus, the sewing machine cover I made for my old sewing machine last year came out a bit too big for it, but – you guessed it, it fits this one nicely. It’s a bit snug, but it still covers it.

As I moved my old sewing machine and began gathering all its attachments, I felt like I should give it a hug for all its good work through the years and pat it and tell it what a good job it has done. But when I feel sentimental about appliances, this video comes to mind:

So even though I am a little intimidated at figuring out things with the new machine, I am looking forward to it as well, and I am thankful for my husband’s love and generosity.

14 thoughts on “A new gadget!

  1. Yay for a new machine and yay for a husband who knows the heart of his wife! 🙂 I’m both happy and excited for you, Barbara!

  2. How fun! I always feel a bit apprehensive when I get new things to replace old ones (especially things with electronics involved!) – but it’s such fun once I learn how to use some of the new features. The string of bows is rather cute.

  3. How exciting! Glad you jumped on the offer and got the new machine. Love that video! ha. I felt bad this month when we finally got rid of our old desktop computer. But remembering now that it has no feelings makes me feel better. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Friday’s Fave Five | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

