What’s On Your Nightstand: April 2015

 What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

Wow – it’s hard to believe we’re in the last week of April. Where did it go so fast?

Since last time I have completed:

A Million Little Ways: Uncover the Art You Were Made to Live by Emily Freeman, reviewed here. Had some issues with parts of it but overall it’s a good message.

He Is There and He Is Not Silent by Francis Schaeffer, reviewed here. A short book about philosophy, apologetics, metaphysics, epistemology – good but stretches one’s brain to the limit.

Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters In the End by Atul Gawande. As I said in my review, if you’re planning on getting old, dying, or helping a parent as they age, you need to read this book.

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy, audiobook, reviewed here. Glad to be know the story now but glad to be done with it finally. 🙂

The Swan House by Elizabeth Musser, reviewed here. Loved.

Songs of the Morning: Stories and Poems for Easter compiled by Pat Alexander, including excerpts from C. S. Lewis, E. B. White, and others, reviewed here.

I’m currently reading:

The Monday Morning Club: You’re Not Alone — Encouragement For Women in Ministry by Claudia Barba.

Feeding Your Appetites: Taking Control of What’s Controlling You by Stephen Arterburn

His Last Bow: Some Later Reminiscences of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, audiobook

A pre-reading of a friend’s novel – will be happy to share more with you when the time comes! 🙂

Gentle Savage Still Seeking the End of the Spear: The Autobiography of a Killer and the Oral History of the Waorani by Menkaye Aenkaedi with Kemo and Dyowe. Just  started this one. These men were among the Waorani (or Aucas, as they were then known) who killed the five men who came to share the gospel with them (Jim Elliot, Nate Saint, and the others) and who later became Christians, Menkaye becoming like a grandfather to Steve Saint’s children. I am very curious to read their story in their own words.

Next Up:

Walking With God in the Season of Motherhood by Melissa B. Kruger

Christy by Catherine Marshall for Carrie‘s Reading to Know Classics Book Club for May. Read this years ago and am eager to revisit it.

Taken, the latest by Dee Henderson. Just got word it’s on it’s way!!! Can’t wait!

The Valley of Fear and The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, audiobooks, to finish off the good detective’s stories.

Pioneer Girl: The Annotated Autobiography by Laura Ingalls Wilder, edited by Pamela Smith Hill. I don’t know if I will actually get to this in the coming month: I hope so.

That should keep me busy for a while. 🙂 What are you reading?

11 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: April 2015

  1. I just finished I Dared to Call Him Father by Bilquis Seikh and Richard H. Schneider, which was wonderful. Now, I’m reading Character Makes a Difference by Mike Huckabee. Excellent!!!

  2. Congratulations on finishing War and Peace! There should be a club you can join when you do that! I’ve read very little this past month, very unlike me.

  3. Christy — wow, there’s a memory from my teenage years! Why are you waiting to read Pioneer Girl? I am anxious to read your impression (and I want to read it as well)!

    • I just have some other things ahead of it that I am reading for various challenges. Plus it’s a big, squarish book that doesn’t fit in any of the places where I keep books handy to read, so it is not as accessible. But I do want to get to it sooner rather than later.

  4. I was glad to knock off a few long books this month too. 🙂 It feels like more of an accomplishment to finish one long book than several short ones. ha. I want to start Anna Karenina at some point, but need a break first from long books. I’ll have to add The Swan House to my list. Enjoyed your review of it.

  5. I loved CHRISTY as a teenager. And I’m 2/3 through PIONEER GIRL. I skipped some of the annotations – there are more of them than the actual book! But it is very interesting!

  6. Congrats on War & Peace! That is on my list but I’m scared of the size of that book!

    I must add some more Dee Henderson to my list. I read a few a long time ago and remember enjoying them.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

