Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been a nice week in many respects. Here are the highlights:

1. A Ladies’ Tea at our church. The best part is that my daughter-in-law was able to go with me. I think this is only the second or third tea I have ever been to, the first one at this church. I loved the cute little sandwiches and desserts as well –  not only attractive, but it was nice to be able to have a small sample of a number of things.

2. Getting a haircut. I always tend to put off it too long, so I am usually quite relieved when I finally get it done. My hair is not very cooperative in the first place, but less so the longer it gets. I went just a bit shorter than usual this time and like it much better.

3. Sunday dinner. For various reasons, my daughter-in-law and grandson were at our house Sunday morning, and when we got home she had made dinner. Always nice but especially on a Sunday – it provides a little more time to relax in the afternoon.

4. Spending gift cards. I’d had to return a Christmas gift to the local Christian bookstore and got a gift certificate for store credit since I didn’t have a receipt. I don’t shop there often (love them, but they’re very expensive, even with coupons), so I kept forgetting to go look around and spend my certificate. Then they sent me a postcard that our local branch of the store was going out of business, so I went in to see if I could find anything to use my certificate before it was too late. With several going-out-of-business markdowns, I was able to get a few books and a pretty pink scarf (why there were scarves at a bookstore, I don’t know…). I also have some gift cards to JoAnn’s from last year and was able to get things for a couple of projects.  I enjoyed the outings and “free” shopping.

5. Finishing a few “heavy” books, one in length and two in subject matter. They were all beneficial, but it’s nice to move on to something lighter and shorter for a bit.

Hope you have a great weekend!

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Your week sounds positively cozy with a tea and reading and time with family. You’ve been an overachiever with those hefty books. I read the quote from Francis Schaeffer and am not sure I comprehended the first 10 words.

    Hurray for gift shop shopping 🙂 Extra markdowns and discounts are always appreciated as well.

  2. Sounds as if you had a wonderful week, Barbara. I am so glad that you were able to go do a bit of “free” shopping…especially when you were able to get things for your projects! What a thoughtful daughter-in-law to have Sunday dinner prepared for you when you got home from church! I know what you mean, too, about haircuts! I had mine done last week and I also went a bit shorter this time. I am loving it! Have a great weekend, my friend.

  3. I have found that I enjoy a hair cut too! I love those Tea’s at church. It give me an excuse to spend time with my daughters! 🙂 They never tell me know when I ask them to attend. 😉
    Yippe for spending those gift cards!

  4. You are lucky to have such a good relationship with your DIL, despite all my efforts to become her friend, she didn’t like me from the beginning on; So there is nothing to do ! As long as my son is happy with her it doesn’t matter.

  5. Spending gift cards IS fun. 🙂 Glad you found some stuff that you liked!

    I’m also a big fan of ladies’ teas. What fun! It IS a blessing that you have such a good relationship with your DIL. That’s something very special. I have a good relationship with my (second) MIL (first passed away) but my husband’s mother was a little bit of a challenge. I loved her, and I know she loved me, but we didn’t “click” so it made it hard. I miss her and value her input into our lives though. If she had lived longer, I feel quite certain we would have worked hard enough at it to find a “happy place” that was comfortable for both. Great family relationships are such a treasure!

  6. I love all of these, but especially the hair. My hair is crazy. I leave it longer so I can throw it in a pony tail most days. Today it actually went in a bun. It’s also almost completely gray. I go this Thursday for a cut and color. I can’t wait.

    There’s a tea house by us that everyone raves about. I’m hoping to take my mom this summer. I love a ladies tea.

  7. I love gift cards and the “free” shopping they provide! Chapters here is full of all sorts of stuff along with books. Yay for a great haircut. I totally get what you are saying about hair. Mine seems to go from okay to way too long and driving me nuts within the span of a day. I, too, love a nice ladies tea.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

