Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been a busy week, and I haven’t been able to work any more on my “project” I’ve been talking about lately, but I should have it done next week. Meanwhile, here are some highlights of this week:

1. Sweet and Spicy Bacon Chicken. I was looking through my Pinterest recipes for something simple yet flavorful that I could toss in the oven, and this fit the bill nicely. I sprinkled bacon bits on it rather than wrapping a bacon slice around it, and sprinkled brown sugar instead of rolling it in it. This one’s a keeper. I didn’t think to take any pictures of my own.

2. Froyoz frozen yogurt. I don’t usually run errands in the evening, but one night I had a prescription I needed to pick up and had run out of time earlier in the day when I was out. I took the opportunity to stop by Froyoz to get Chocolate Milk and Creamy Peanut Butter flavored frozen yogurt topped with chocolate covered peanuts and a small bit of brownie. Good stuff.

3. Blooming trees. Several flowering trees are in bloom this week. Our neighbor’s trees turned white overnight – I don’t know what they are, but I’ve always called them popcorn trees because that’s what the round, white blossoms look like to me from a distance. After the colorlessness of winter, I love to see color springing up all over this time of year.

4. The Hobbit:The Battle of the Five Armies. Enjoyed watching this with the family. I know the films have been maligned and added elements that weren’t in the book, but I still enjoyed it, especially Bilbo and Bard.

5. Thinking about the death and resurrection of Christ. I knew one blogger who felt that putting spiritual things on a favorite’s list trivialized them, but I disagree. Though in one sense we celebrate the resurrection every Sunday, and the death of Christ is applicable every day, I especially appreciate the focus this time of year, the reminder of all He went through so that He could offer us salvation, His great love for us, and the joy resulting from His resurrection.

I hope you have a wonderful Easter!

4 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I like what you said about spiritual things on a favourites list. I add them because they are an integral part of my life and they are a favourite in my life because without them I wouldn’t be the same person.

    I love when the colors of spring start showing through. I’ve got some of my hostas already starting to peek through the brown dirt. I have not been able to get into the Lord of the Rings or Hobbit series, though my kids like them. Nice that you were able to make it a family watch, though! That’s always a favourite in my books.

    Happy Easter to you and your family, Barbara!

  2. I think spiritual matters are important to list–they are who we are.
    I enjoyed the Hobbit series too–if you understand that they are movies and movies have to ‘show’ the story, you can appreciate the changes in the story.
    Happy Easter! He is risen!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

